Buffer-overflow attack

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by spectator, Feb 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spectator

spectator Registered Member

Buffer overflow is a very common attack.

Does processguard protect my computer from code that get runned by buffer overflow if I check "Block New and Changing program"?

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hi Spectator, ProcessGuard protects from driver / service install and will stop anything that is protected from change, if the buffer overrun mechanism is an executable then PG would see it and ask for permission to run.
    If it is an external attack then it is the job of your firewall.
    PrevX i said to protect againt buffer overrun but I have no experience with PrevX.
    Using the latest security patches from MS also address some of these attacks.

HTH Pilli

3. gottadoit

gottadoit Security Expert

Hi Spectator,
    PG looks at the environment at the process level, so things like java/activex executing inside your browser (an already running process) don't interact with permissions set in PG unless they try to create an external process

The short answer is that process guard does not protect you from a buffer overflow and the subsequent execution of code in the target process.

What is can do is limit some of the damage that is able to be done afterwards, the most obvious thing that can be stopped is the execution of other programs (that are not set as "permit always") without you seeing a confirmation window. It does depend on how you have configured ProcessGuard and what you have specified with Permit Always privileges

It is important to note that ProcessGuard only protects one Registry Key, so unless you have registry protection there is nothing stopping injected code like this having a good scribble in the registry, creating entries in the startup sequence and doing other nasty things (like deleting files or forcing a reboot)