Better and worse AVs for privacy ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Fly, Apr 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

Fly Registered Member

Privacy pretty much defined as what data/information the vendor collects and what it does with that information.

To keep it simple, let's assume you don't use the cloud option.

Personally, my focus is on the suites, not standalone AVs.

A few years ago I studied this issue myself, but as I stated that was a few years ago.

Obviously there is a difference between written policy and practice.

I remember McAfee being on of the worst, selling and redistributing anonymous and not so anonymous data to third parties.
    I suspect that Symantec isn't that great either, given the fact that it's a major US company and it relies to a great extent on reputation scores.

This isn't intended to be an A vs. B thread, just systemic or anecdotal information/reports.

Some examples of AVs/suites of interest are Eset, Kaspersky, Bitdefender, GDATA, Avira.
    Avira isn't what it used to be ...
    I've wondered about the privacy implications of Kaspersky, and that has nothing to do with me being anti-Russian, which I'm not.
    Since I'm in the EU I suspect that American AVs are more risky for various reasons, but perhaps these days the European AVs may be equally bad.

Privacy has many aspects, like data (what data?) being sent to state actors, data being shared with a few companies the vendor coorporates with, vendors that sell or share the data with many parties (McAfee?).

Once you buy an AV/suite online from the vendor you're probably waiving any privacy you had.

Personally I don't need an AV for daily use, but there are situations in which use of an AV is useful or warranted.

Thoughts ?

2. Mman79

Mman79 Registered Member