Benefits & Costs?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by marse.robert, Nov 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marse.robert

marse.robert Registered Member

Hi all,

When I first purchased FD-ISR I did not use the Application fully. I merely used the Primary and Secondary functions. As time went by, and after reading some very informative suggestions, I graduated to using the Archive function - getting too big for my boots!

I am now using the Freeze function, and with that, I am facing a cost and benfit question. Having said that, perhaps my thinking is wrong.

This is how I employ FD-ISR. Primary, Secondary with an Archive on my second hard drive (+ an Archive on my external drive.) At first, this seemed adequate as I had an image by True Image 10 on a third (internal) hard drive.

Now I am considerering the benefits of the Freeze function. Now, having the Freeze in place, I get the comfort of booting to a clean copy of Windows. Anything that goes wrong, I can Unfreeze and then boot to the Secondary; update the Primary and then refreeze - and I am up and running once more.

As my data is not on the C: drive, I now find that the drive containing my data can be compromised.

My question is, where does this all end? Is the cost in time and money, plus the learning curve of new applications outweighing the derived benefits? Can we block all security holes? I do not have the confidence in entrusting the internet with my banking facility. Furthermore, in the past 5 years, I have not been troubled with any virii (sp?). My biggest trouble causer is me, and my inexperience with technology. I cause all of the problems with my computer's downtime. My issue is that I want to be up and running in the least amount of time, and FD-ISR is very convenient to that end.

Under these circumstances, would it not be better, to simply have a Primary + Secondary + 1 Archive, and forget the Freeze function?

marserobert

2. Acadia