Backup Strategy Guidance Needed

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Chamlin, Dec 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chamlin

Chamlin Registered Member

I have failed in the past to follow my backup strategies, in part because I never automated them and I was unreliable.

So I'd like some help getting clarity about how to move forward on my new Win 7 Pro PC and Win 7 Pro laptop. I'll list my drives here and then what I'm planning (and I'm not that tech savvy so bear with me):

My PC drives:
    c: OS & programs (160 GB SSD)
    e: General data (2 TB)
    f: Recording Audio data (600 GB)
    g: This drive is intended to be a clone of my old XP drive so I can run legacy programs that I won't be able to run even in Win 7's XP mode. (150 GB)
    h: 2 TB external USB 3.0 drive for general data backup, images
    i: 2 TB external USB 3.0 drive for audio data backup, images

Laptop:
    c: Everything on this drive (500 GB)

Strategy for your consideration:
    1. Already using CrashPlan online backup on both systems for data backup. Happy with it.

2. Starting to use AX64, doing hourly snaps, and manual shots prior to any system changes/software installation.

3a. I think I also need a traditional image backup and need it now. Maybe Macrium Reflect Standard; EaseUs? Your thoughts on the need and the choices?

3b. Do I do a total backup monthly and incremental or differential backups weekly?

3c. If I can't leave my PC on overnight, how much will doing these incrementals or differentials impact my system performance? (Intel Core i5, 3.4GHz Quad Core w/16GB RAM)

3d. Can these programs automate the backup process and do it for these multiple drives? (I'll have a license for each computer, of course.)

4. Do I also need to do real time data backup via Macrium or EaseUs or is the imaging combined with online data backup sufficient?

Thanks for your help!
    Chamlin

Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
  2. Baldrick