avast4 vailable !

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by minacross, Dec 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    both home and pro version. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ZZZ7

    ZZZ7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Your on every board pumping this [avp] ...........so tell us what's so good about it !

    I think it's crap ...........BTW!
     
  3. Vampirefo

    Vampirefo Guest

    I wonder also cause in this thread, the poster doesn't like the AVP http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=4838;start=0
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Postings like these are allowed and appreciated over on this board ;)

    No freeware antivirus - AVG included - can compete with the top notch commercial antiviruses. That said: Avast does score far better than AVG on the virusbulletin test(s).

    regards,

    paul
     
  5. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Paul...

    when are you going to test this version ??

    regards,
    bill ;)
     
  6. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Mina,
    could you post a link for us ??
    Thanks,
    bill ;)
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

  8. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Thanks FanJ,
    But I can't seem to find ver. 4 at the site !!

    regards,
    bill :)
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

  10. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    You tell us! Why do you think AVAST is crap? Give us some facts before conclusion! :doubt:

    AVAST is a solid AntiVirus program and far from "crap"! Price is unbeatable… ;)


    Technodrome
     
  11. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Bill,

    As soon as time permits - we do have software piling up here waiting to be tested :p.

    regards.

    paul
     
  12. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Thanks FanJ !
    That link worked. I got the file and will install later on today.
    Screenshots to follow !!

    Regards,
    bill ;)
     
  13. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Here's some screenshots !!
    I've got more and will try to post them later. The Memory Usage shots are worth a look !!

    Very slick interface !

    regards,
    bill :)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    I have not called it crap but AVAST 3 was one of the worst AV software I ever tried. Too many false positives, poor (zoo) detection. Maybe the new version has improved - I will test within the next days.

    wizard
     
  15. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    I agree! But there are commercial (well Know) antivirus products with very very poor Zoo virus detection....



    Technodrome
     
  16. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    online update !
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Eduard

    Eduard Guest

    At first - I'm from ALWIL Software - developer of avast!
    Thanks a lot for place and you give to our new antivirus.
    I read some notice about false positives already and today again. I asked for files containing false alarms to correct our database - nothing happend.
    It's the first time I read about poor detection of zoo. I should answer:
    1. Not all files you count as infected are infected by viruses - virus should be able to spread and we know about a lot of "virus collections" containing a lot of other things than viruses.
    2. We maintain a huge virus collection and avast! is compared on everyday basis with competitors and we know that some products which are so loved here have results I can't comment here. But we know that their collection are scanned by their products much better then by avast!
    3. Everyone can send us a file which contain virus avast! checks as a clean. Therefore I'm looking forward to obtain thousends of "infected" files.
    4. Some of programs you like have problems with VB100% and some of them don't send their products to Virus Bulletin at all.

    Best regards Eduard Kucera
     
  18. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
  19. Ghost

    Ghost Guest

    Is there some kind of special routine to be followed to get the program to install?

    Do you have to create a special directory or folder for it? Put it in a special place?

    I can't get it to install correctly.
     
  20. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Thank you Mr. Eduard for your notes!

    To subbmit your virus Incident Report go here:
    http://www.avast.com/form.htm


    Technodrome
     
  21. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    TD,
    is that the Pro Version ?

    Did you check the Memory usage ?

    I have some screenshots but can't post them !!


    regards,
    bill :)
     
  22. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Ghost,
    I just created a directory................... c:\security\avast, and than installed the Avast file to that folder. I'm using Win2K and I had no problems.
    Make sure you disable other AV programs before you do an install of Avast !

    regards,
    bill ;)
     
  23. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Eduard,
    thanks for dropping by !

    My very first concern is the memory usage.

    ashserve.exe is using 25,580k by itself !!

    Are you aware of the high memory usage ?

    I'm using Win2k !

    Kindest regards,
    bill :)
     
  24. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    3 avast4! componetns are running in background(Windows XP)! They are using around 39 MB of memory! :eek:



    Technodrome
     
  25. Ghost

    Ghost Guest

    Thanks, guys. The beta 4 install went without a hitch this time. Scanning with it now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.