Are these Trojans?

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Cyborg, Mar 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyborg

Cyborg Registered Member

Hi Guys,

I have performed a c:/drive check disk operation and I checked :-

"Automatically fix file system errors" and "Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors."

I have never done this before and did so on advice that it is just good PC house keeping and to keep everything running sweet. After this operation was completed I was hit with a ZoneAlarm Alert which asked me to grant permission to "LiveUpdate Engine Com Module" and when I checked I had information outgoing to various IP address's which is concerning me.

I have attached a screen print to show what is what and you will note that everything is related to Messenger and all are in red which suggests Trojans.

One of the main highlighted Ports is Port 80. Can I close this Port down or does my PC need this open as most of the High alerts I get from ZoneAlarm refer to Port 80.

You will also notice Port 7001 which I have read somewhere is also a known problem Port in respect of Trojans.

Can somebody help me please. If I had said yes to "LiveUpddate Engine Com Module" I guess that non of these entries would have shown up. Is it safe to yes to "LiveUpdate Engine Com Module?"

Do I haave a problem with Messenger and should I uninstall it and start over?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated and the ease of which I can trace IP Addresses in Port Explorer is cool and has convinced me that is one piece of Software I really need.

Finally what is "Enable Spying." Is it as it suggests a way of me watching those that are watching me?

Hope to hear from you,

Cyborg

Attached Files:

2. Gavin - DiamondCS

Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator