application and rules based firewalls

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by arj1, Sep 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arj1

arj1 Guest

I am new to firewalls, and after doing much reading here I`ve found that there are application and/or rules based firewalls. Can someone explain the difference between them,and possibly the advantages of one over the other? also ,is there someplace that lists which firewalls are application or rules based or both? Thanks for any guidance, A.J.

2. Pieter_Arntz

Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

Hi arj1,

Some reading: http://www.wilders.org/firewalls.htm
    for you while our firewall experts think about an answer. ;)

Regards,

Pieter

3. arj1

arj1 Guest

Thanks Pieter, I thought I had read all that Wilders had on firewalls.. Somehow had missed this one...
    I`m learning...

arj1

4. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Hi arj1

Application based firewalls will usually allow traffic based on rules permitting only those applications you approve to connect to the network/Internet. They will usually allow any traffic by these approved applications.

Rule based firewalls allow you define what traffic will be permitted to the network/Internet. With rules, you can specify the protocols, source/destination address, source/destination ports that will be allowed or denied.

Most newer software firewalls are now a combination of both. Allowing you to authorize only the applications you wish to connect , as well as being able to define specific rules for those applications or the system in general.

ZA free is the closest to being just an application based firewall. The majority of others have rules capability allowing for more control over what is permitted. Some more than others.

Regards,

CrazyM

5. arj1

arj1 Guest

Thanks CrazyM, Then would a combination of both be the better way to go?... for a beginner to learn more about rules.. I think I saw Sygate listed that way and Outpost..

arj1

6. arj1

arj1 Guest