Any successful V4 Server Installations?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by k12adm1n, Aug 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. k12adm1n

k12adm1n Registered Member

I am a K-12 network admin and am installing Nod32 V4 to replace CA ITM for about 300 workstations and about 6 servers.

Apologies if I am beating a dead horse here, but I have gone through the various threads on this forum and understand the general consensus is to use 3.x on servers installations and 4.x workstations.

However, I was curious if there is anyone who is using v4 on either 32 or 64 bit versions of Win2k3 or Win2k8 server without any issues? Any silent minority here? :blink:

I'd like to use v4 throughout the my LAN for consistency, but don't want to be dumb about this either. Eset says v4 works fine on Windows servers, and sells it for this platform.

Interested in specific cases on either side so new admins like myself could make the decision about which version to install.

Eset -- if you're reading this, can we have an official response addressing the concerns of so many admins here re: v4 instability on servers. Reverting to v3 is not a long-term solution we can live with.

Thanks.

Bill

2. Brambb

Brambb Registered Member

I am running v4 on 4 Windows 2003 servers atm. Planning to install another 3 copies next week on different 2003 servers. One of the currently running server is a Domain Controller which is running fine for months now. Must say it for a SMB company but the server hardware specs are also pretty low. Other servers are only file and application servers where I don't notice any impact either.
    Of course they all run with the proper exclusions and advised configuration settings given by ESET KB.

Last edited: Aug 13, 2009
  3. bjzielinski

bjzielinski Registered Member