Adding Files

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Whynot, Feb 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whynot

Whynot Registered Member

Hi,
    As a complete novice I'm trying to determine which files requiring protection I need to add. On my root drive I have over 800 .exe's and on my program drive over 100. That's a lotta work, an' I'm sure totally OTT - not to mention if the 'puter would actually be workable after this. So, if I load the default list and my security software, is this enough. Suggestions and help sorely needed, thanks.

2. gkweb

gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

you would probably just need to add your resident security software (firewall, Anti-Virus, Anti-Torjans, etc...) as well as your internet capable program, browser/mail/IM, etc... plus default windows critical services added by default by PG :)

3. Rainwalker

Rainwalker Registered Member

Morning/afternoon all ......I hope this has not been asked........ Is it ok to allow Globel Hooks on all security programs

4. Wayne - DiamondCS

Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

Hello Whynot!,
    You really only need to add protection for 1) system processes (explorer.exe, winlogon.exe, etc), and 2) security processes (your firewall, antivirus, antitrojan, etc).

Rainwakler,
    Generally yes, because security programs are 'trusted' programs - ie. you know that even if they use hooks, they won't use them maliciously.

The general rule of thumb is - if you completely trust a program (such as a reputable firewall or antivirus) then it should be OK to give it full, unrestricted privilege access, but if you don't completely trust a program, then use Process Guard to restrict its capabilities to see if it tries to do anything potentially malicious.

5. Rainwalker