64 bit

Discussion in 'hardware' started by tradetime, May 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tradetime

tradetime Registered Member

Given that just about every processor on the market today is a 64bit processor, how come 64bit OS is still the black sheep of the family? I thought 64bit was going to be one of the advancements in computing. What went wrong? Anybody have any ideas, without getting too technical?

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

Microsoft needs to release a 64-bit only OS and developers need to release more 64-bit software.

3. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,
    You've had 64-bit Solaris since 1992. And Linux distros and applications are available in a dazzling range both for 32-bit and 64-bit processors. I've been running 64-bit Linux since 2005. No lack of programs there...
    Mrk

4. farmerlee

farmerlee Registered Member

Going against my recent comments i actually just made the switch to 64bit a couple of days ago. I've been getting into memory intensive activities on my computer so i wanted to be able to make full use of my 4gigs of ram. I couldn't get hold of xp 64bit so i've gone with vista ultimate 64bit.
    Its early days yet but so far it hasn't been too bad, most of the programs that i regularly use work fine, for others i do have to find alternatives. When it comes to security software however, it does seem to be slim pickings. Overall its been a fun learning experience so far.

5. tradetime

tradetime Registered Member

Thanks for the responses, I was just curious as to date 64 bit seems to be a bit of a white elephant. I wonder will it actually catch on or just fade away into the mists of time.

6. Arup

Arup Guest

Using XP64 bit on both my PCs for the last two years, both are quad cores now, one Phenom and one Quad Core Intel. All x32 apps run fine, x64 apps run excellent. So far no compatibility problem encountered.

7. jrmhng

jrmhng Registered Member