12kb/sec DL on cable..huh ??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by snowy, Jul 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snowy

    snowy Guest

    suddenly my download speed is 12kb/sec on a cable connection........previously it was between 170 and 190 kb\sec................can anyone suggest an reson for such a drop....o_O (new to cable useage) heck on dial-up I was getting 5 to 7 kb/sec

    snowman
     
  2. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi most likely everyone in your cable area is on the net also and your server connection is a slow one. It does not matter how fast you are but the speed the server can send you the information. :D
     
  3. snowy

    snowy Guest

    Hi Loki

    I agree...however such a dramatic drop.....not likely due to heavy traffic....cable can handle the traffic easily in my area.....which has me wondering if I am being re-routed...getting scanned by the same company but in another state o_O Can't hardly wait to rid myself of this cable company......THIS WEEK!!!!!
     
  4. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi snowy,
    I use DSL and still sometimes my dl's will get real slow. It's always to be remembered that not all web servers are set for anything more than the 56k. :mad: Also line conditions can play into this for both cable and telephone lines. o_O :eek: :D
     
  5. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Well, I;ve got some real sweet ROadrunner cable but I was reading the other day about people stealing bandwidth by tampering with their cable modems and when they do so it makes everyone else who is not doing such illegal practices slower... So, maybe someone near you revved up their cable modem and ripped your bandwidth off?
     
  6. snowy

    snowy Guest

    LOKI

    fully agree.......all points........my COM ports are set to the max without otherwise going into the registry....which I don't think would solve the problem either.....pages load very fast...indication of a stable connection....65% resources free...... I've a funny feeling this may be related to what I am blocking the cable provider from doing
    but hey Loki......appreciate you having made replies.....oh, nice post you made in another forum.....anyways I will look into this later.....thanks Loki

    snowman
     
  7. NetWatchman

    NetWatchman Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Posts:
    31
    Snowy...would be glad to help you pull a packet trace and analyze this if u'r interested..message me and see:

    http://www.mynetwatchman.com/pckidiot to get Ethereal setup.

    Don't bother with above if you have a USB-based cable modem..alternate approach is necessary.
     
  8. snowy

    snowy Guest

    MYNETW

    thanks for the very nice offer.....I'm feeling really awful tonight....just bearing with the pain...posting to get my mind off of it........had considered a sniffer...but wont be with this cable company any longer than it takes for me to feel well enough to drive a car....an bring back their modem.........going back to dial-up........if I am going to be spied on by a ip darn if I will pay the big bucks to them while they are doing it.........going to find the cheapest dial-up I can instead.........oh..I really don't know if it USB.....how can I find that out please ?


    Detox...thats interest about the hi-jacking......after noticing alot of "internet broadcasting" activity on port 68 udp I jammed it.....plus port 69 upd then routed TFTP
    .....the firewall was not alerting nor preventing......so it had to be coming from a connection from my ip....I sure was not hacked....positive! has not happen since jamming those ports.

    was feeling much better earlier today then suddenly began feeling much worse than ever......just not up to doing much right now.........thanks everyone
     
  9. NetWatchman

    NetWatchman Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Posts:
    31
    How does your Cable modem connected to your computer?
    If by USB, then it's a USB cable modem
    If by Ethernet, then it's an Ethernet cable modem

    It's a lot harder to setup an analyzer for USB...that's why I asked.

    Be advised, that simple Windows configuration can create the exact symptom you describe...especially if you have previously used "tweak" programs to try to optimize your dialup connection...those same tweaks can kill cable/DSL throughput. By using an analyzer, we can see *exactly* what's going on.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.