Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Official BrightFort Forum > SpywareBlaster & Other Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old June 30th, 2004, 07:26 PM
blebs blebs is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Question Is Javacool aware of this?

hxxp://www.spywareblaster.com/

Last edited by javacool : June 30th, 2004 at 07:29 PM. Reason: Edited to disable link
  #2  
Old June 30th, 2004, 07:42 PM
Bubba's Avatar
Bubba Bubba is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,279
Default Re: Is Javacool aware of this?

Yes....Yes he is
  #3  
Old June 30th, 2004, 07:47 PM
javacool javacool is offline
BrightFort Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,879
Default Re: Is Javacool aware of this?

Hi,

Yes I am very aware of that particular domain.

In case anyone is wondering, spywareblaster.com is NOT, in any way, shape, or form, associated with Javacool Software or SpywareBlaster. All of the links on spywareblaster.com take you to a download of BPS Spyware Remover from bulletproofsoft.com.

Interestingly enough, Patrick Kolla, the developer of Spybot S & D, has publically stated that BPS Spyware Remover used a hacked version of the Spybot database: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=7221

Download.com does not offer BPS Spyware Remover anymore, either.

Please be sure to tell people they can download SpywareBlaster at http://www.javacoolsoftware.com

Best regards,

-Javacool
__________________

*Official BrightFort Website*
*SpywareBlaster*

*Please note: I am not responsible if any advice herein causes any trouble whatsoever *
  #4  
Old July 4th, 2004, 04:41 AM
nadirah nadirah is offline
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,647
Default Re: Is Javacool aware of this?

If you want to download spywareblaster/spywareguard, always download from www.javacoolsoftware.com ONLY.
Attached Images
 
  #5  
Old July 8th, 2004, 03:17 AM
blebs blebs is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is Javacool aware of this?

I wanted to be sure you guys knew about it. I'm helping some elderly folks at another site and one of them just typed in hxxp://www.spyblaster.com for the url and started asking me why they had to pay if it were supposed to be free. That prompted me to go have a look at what they found.

Thanks again!

Last edited by LowWaterMark : July 8th, 2004 at 03:55 AM. Reason: disabled live link
  #6  
Old July 8th, 2004, 06:44 AM
nadirah nadirah is offline
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,647
Default Re: Is Javacool aware of this?

BTW, i find those website addresses funny, all start with hxxp. All website links start with the four letters HTTP not HXXP. HXXP? Now those websites don't seem like good guys to me.
Tell me if you find any more website links starting with HXXP. I'm gonna find out what they are. Perhaps they are using HXXP to create fake websites for scams or some illegal activity.
  #7  
Old July 8th, 2004, 07:59 AM
dog
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is Javacool aware of this?

Hi Nadirah,

The HTTP was replaced with HXXP by Wilders' Staff to disable the link. Due the following:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Javacool
In case anyone is wondering, spywareblaster.com is NOT, in any way, shape, or form, associated with Javacool Software or SpywareBlaster. All of the links on spywareblaster.com take you to a download of BPS Spyware Remover from bulletproofsoft.com.

Interestingly enough, Patrick Kolla, the developer of Spybot S & D, has publically stated that BPS Spyware Remover used a hacked version of the Spybot database: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=7221

Please be sure to tell people they can download SpywareBlaster at http://www.javacoolsoftware.com

HTH,

dog -
  #8  
Old July 8th, 2004, 08:03 AM
nadirah nadirah is offline
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,647
Default Re: Is Javacool aware of this?

Oh, now i know. Thanks for the valuable information, dog.
 

Wilders Security Forums > Official BrightFort Forum > SpywareBlaster & Other Forum « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums