ZoneAlarm Updates

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by QBgreen, Feb 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    It appears that the ZA line has been updated to version 8.0.298.000. You know where to go for the change logs!
     
  2. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    On this page you'll find the change logs.
    Gonn'a try it my self again to see the performance on my PC
     
  3. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  4. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Check Point has also released ZoneAlarm Extreme Security; basically their Internet Security product that has ForceField integrated, as well as Online Backup and PC Tune-Up. See here and here for more details.

    And if anyone uses ZoneAlarm IS or ES (their new Extreme Security product), or decides to test them, can you please report back on how they impact performance? I like ZoneAlarm's features and the controls it offers, but the last time I tried it – even the new 2009 Internet Security – it still impacted my startup and shutdown time. Since their changelog indicates an improvement, I'd like to hear how the updated product fares (i.e. if it has indeed improved).
     
  5. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Running Extreme on a fast VISTA Businness machine 32bit, 4GIG. RAM.
    First boot is slow... but thats how ZA works.... funny install where all was disabled... (probably my fault).

    After some reboots now it is stable and I cannot see any noticeable slow down....

    Fax
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Thanks for the heads-up. I updated ZAAV without incident.
     
  7. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    yup,the only problem i have with ZA is slow-startup.........
     
  8. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    After testing the new version.... I didn't find any slowdowns.
    BTW, has anyone tried this with the Vista 64-bit?
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
  9. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169

    Running it now with no issues so far....ZAP that is (the pro one)
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  11. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Did notice that a couple of sites would not load don't know why maybe a setting I have preventing it but no big deal as it was GRC site for port testing and the hacker wacker site or what ever its called which is also a firewall testing site.

    A heads up on doing a update. I did one from the programs main page on the bottom on quick tasks and it said all was already updated, then no more then 5 secs later did a update from the built in ant-spyware and it updated so I guess you have to update them separately unless just by luck their was a update that just had came out after I tried it from the main page.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.