Zonealarm IS 7.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jodu, Nov 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jodu

    jodu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Posts:
    29
  2. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    I use ZA Pro, which has an ASW feature. I disable it and it's updates.

    That frees ZA up to do what it should do firewall work.

    From time to time I open up the ASW feature and update it manually as an extra on demand scanner. It has yet to find anything.

    Then turn it off again

    Can't you do the same thing? Or are you relying on it for AV?
    If the answer is yes, there are way better AV's. I don't know which AV they are moving to but will find out.

    To many single use products are becoming would be suites. IMHO.
     
  3. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    I think i am very impressed with the proposed changes they have decided to make with the security suite..

    Finally they have become more serious with their AV,which will have a new AV engine(i think CA's new Anti-virus version::cool: and also hourly updates...

    Firewall will also have major upgrades like malware blocking and stuff..

    Very pleased with their plans,hope it goes out well.
     
  4. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    ZA 7.0's AV now uses Kaspersky engine

    PCMagazine has the full details of the upcoming AV engine that ZA 7.0 will use:
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,2035975,00.asp

    ZA 7.0's AV will now used Kaspersky's engine, hence the hourly updates (since thats how often Kaspersky produces them). In essence, since the deal between ZL and CA has finished (hence why CA's new firewall engine uses Tiny firewall technology), this allows ZL to find a new provider. Since Check Point (ZL's parent company) has an ongoing relationship with Kaspersky throuh Check Point's Firewall-1, it only makes sense for Check Point to extend the relationship to ZL's desktop products.

    In my view, I think this tie-up is going to produce produce killer products. One of the best firewall engine combined with one of the best AV engine in the market. That is one killer combo that is hard to beat.
     
  5. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    This sounds great.
    The best anti virus with one of the best firewall.
    the 6.5 suite is allready great but a lousy anti virus and anti spyware.

    anyone got a download link?
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    wow!!!:D :D :D
     
  7. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    The open beta should start soon. Details of when this will open will be posted on Zone Labs website or the official Zone Labs forum. I think ZL is in the process of creating the beta pages, feedback forms and getting the appropriate files hosted on servers. Check the above pages often so you get in on the action.
     
  8. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    So, we have

    ZoneAlarm IS: ZoneAlarm + KAV

    KIS: Outpost + KAV

    Both are strong combinations!!! :thumb: :thumb:
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    Have Kaspersky dropped their own in-house firewall, Anti-Hacker?
     
  10. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    Oh, I mean the firewall in KIS is a modified version of Outpost.
     
  11. dah145

    dah145 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    n/a
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    NOW, it will be a very strong suite, since KAV engine and signatures are the best, :D and also the great firewall of ZA.
     
  12. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    So what about PDMs of KAV. Will they co-exist with behaves of ZAP?
     
  13. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    Wow. Kaspersky Labs is doing a great job of marketing.
     
  14. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    You know, I'm beginning to think that the increasing number of technology partners for Kaspersky have some involvement in the generally high detection rates of KAV....

    The only problem is that most clone AVs have one or the other small problem when compared to the original. I do hope this is not the case with ZoneAlarm.
     
  15. Netherlands

    Netherlands Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    159
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    Where did you get that information?

    The firewall in KIS is a enhanced version of antihacker and it is completely developed inhouse !!
     
  16. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    cool kaspersky has been doing extremely well in marketing will this mean the end of norton and mcafee :) if zonealarm fixes their firewall to be p2p friendly i might buy it
     
  17. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    hmm, interesting news.

    ZA's suite has always been poor due to their antivirus and spyware, but with scrapping CA for kaspersky, on paper... this could be one of the top tier suites, in theory.
     
  18. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    It has always been P2P friendly. I always use Bittorrent to share and download Linux distros, and always max out my download and upload speed.
     
  19. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    Re: ZoneAlam Security Suite To Have Kaspersky's AV

    I don't think ZA will incorprate KAV's PDM since ZA's OSFirewall does the same thing. Some will probably argue that ZA's OSFirewall is probably better since it can detect programs with keylogging abillities too. I doubt ZL will throw away their OSFirewall technology especially when they have been working for more than a year improving the feature. It would be a waste of effort.

    I think what ZA's AV will use KAV's file AV, mail AV and maybe web AV.
     
  20. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Why is CA considered a bad anti-virus program? It passed the VB 100% tests.
     
  21. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    That alone does not make it a good AV. See how it scored in this test (VET and INO are at the end of the list): http://www.pcwelt.de/news/sicherheit/59058/
     
  22. aluckystar

    aluckystar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Paris of the East
    Well, I am using KAV 6.0 + ZA Pro 6.5. :D

    But they both have anti-spyware, email protection and some HIPS functions.

    I don't know which one is better. I choose KAV in these repeated funtions now.
     
  23. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    I am using kaspersky antivirus 6.0 without PDM and Zone alarm pro. This combination is similar to upcoming Zone alarm security suite version 7 , i guess? o_O :)
     
  24. dah145

    dah145 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    n/a
    Exactly the same but now together in a suite. :p
     
  25. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    This is FANTASTIC!

    I know what I will be buying:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.