ZoneAlarm - how to remove the unremovable

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by korben, Apr 11, 2018.

  1. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    907
    1] clean.exe from ZA - missing MSVCP140.dll and 3 more errors - FAIL
    2] geek uninstaller - success - restart - fail - ZA resides as always in the tray
    3] BU uninstaller - 1st attempt - FAIL, 2nd attempt - success, restart the system - ZA is here...
    4] System Restore - FAIL

    p.s. i stopped the two ZA services and disabled them too - no go

    HELP
     
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Just to be sure it is clean.exe or CLEAN.exe (capital letter)? The latter is the right one, clean.exe is an old uninstaller and will not work, you can find it the right one here:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/support/download/CLEAN.exe

    Try first to boot in SAFE MODE and only then run the ZA removal tool.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2018
  3. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    907
    There were two errors but the software is gone, which I am thankful for.

    peace
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Good! Happy to hear it worked.:thumb:
     
  5. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    what went wrong with ZA ? did you not like it ?
     
  6. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    907
    Like with the case of PrivateFirewall - too many blue screens along the way.
    Perhaps it is my fault, improper config vs inapprioriate and insufficient learning, yet since the day it was removed I have had 0 blue screens...

    Currently w/o a firewall on my machine...
     
  7. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    347
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    Why don't you try TinyWall? If you're using Windows 10 1803 you would need to use TW tweaked by this 3rd party here: https://fdossena.com/?p=w10debotnet/index_1803.frag This is what I use. If you're in an earlier version W10 then TW from the developer's site may work. TinyWall is great and simple to use.
     
  8. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,328
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Aloha korben -- give us an update please. Are you still w/o firewall? If so, which computer - the Win7, the Win10, or both?
     
  9. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Win 7 x64 ZAP running smooth as silk.
    This is firewall only.
     
  10. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    907
    @bellgamin
    Hola amigo
    Not as adventurous as before on my Win 7
    I miss OnlineArmor's overall perfection and stability.
    It pains me to know that my ports have been opened for many weeks now yet I shiver to go down that road of trial and error once again.
    Perhas when holidays come and I have less workload...then I can reconsider installing a FW.

    p.s. on W 10 ShadowDefender when I play a game on Steam, then reboot and I reside on linux.
     
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,328
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I miss OA, too. Even more, I miss the Aussie who created OA & was a denizen of these forums for several years.

    I see you use ShadowDefender (SD). You probably already know this, but ZoneAlarm FW+HIPS needs NO restart. So I gave her a lengthy running-in on Win7 using SD. She ran splendidly & was very quick at the helm. So I installed her for real & she is now running straight & true with a following wind. Aye, she's a yar FW, she is.

    Despite your prior bad experience with ZA, maybe the latest version deserves another try? You might take her out for an SD spin some day. No danger in doing that, & you *might* find true love....

    Aloha & Godspeed
     
  12. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    907
    I like your flow of words.

    For now, I am sticking with my guns. Later on? We shall see about that... ;)
     
  13. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @korben you are very lucky you got it removed, I believe you can't, it leaves so many drivers with network capability that if you do remove it you loose connectivity
    the programme clutters the system like nothing else I've seen. I found alot of services in service.msc (6-7, more?) an plenty of kernel level drivers that are not gone with uninstallers

    also ran the clean.exe it appears to clean it, but no, after reboot ZA is there again fully installed! , second time in safe mode with clean.exe, this time it removed something, but after reboot I lost network connectivity forever, nothing helped even re-install of network drivers/software, restoring winsock, flushing dns, removing za from registry, removing all its drivers, but you won't ever connect again (ZA is vindicative)

    I tested all the above uninstallers and I believe they don't work as of 24.04.2021, they leave stuff behind that will cripple your OS, thankfully wiping works.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2021
  14. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    907
    oh boy oh boy

    I count myself lucky now!

    Update - my laptop with W7 is no more, so I am on W10, another laptop, no more ZA, simplewall rocks.
     
  15. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi,
    Maybe some of you ran old version of "clean.exe", which causes problems above.
    The same happened to me also, it was quite difficult to find right version(windows 10 compatible) of "clean.exe".
    There's a thread about it at https://malwaretips.com/threads/vsdatant-sys-causes-bsod.105739/#post-919237

    What becomes to ZA firewall itself, it's good. I do like it, because it is using it own kernel mode firewall driver, rather than relying windows own "firewall".
    This, in my opinion, gives additional security for (unknown)malwares that can disable/modify windows own firewall during the boot-stage.
    I'm using Symantec Endpoint Security at the moment. Only firewall/IDS component installed.
    If you enable Symantec Firewall to "ask anything", regardless if it's legit windows component or so, it's going to be a clickfest.
    What i did, was to answer YES to anything outgoing attempts. After "tamed" the firewall, go to application control and then edit the rules/protocol/ports.
    Sure its needs some knowledge and work.

    Some sites with Cloudflare DDoS protection does not work with SEP firewall. It causes infinite loop "Checking your browser before accessing..."
    In firewall settings, you need to untick Enable Stealth Mode Web Browsing. You can leave TCP Resequencing and OS Fingerprint Masquerading on. By default, these settings are disabled.

    Enable TCP resequencing: This setting prevents an intruder from taking advantage of the ability to forge (or spoof) a computer’s IP address by randomizing TCP sequence numbers.

    Enable OS fingerprint masquerading: This setting keeps programs from detecting a computer’s operating system that runs the SEP client software.
    This setting works best when TCP resequencing is enabled. The client changes the Time-To-Live (TTL) and identification value of TCP/IP packets to prevent other programs from identifying an operating system by using packet signatures.

    Kind regards,
    -sepik
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.