ZoneAlarm Free Firewall v10

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Cloud, Oct 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Oh great! :rolleyes:
     
  3. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Wait,

    I was going to test this FREE firewall on a VM but...149MB !!! installer for just a firewall o_O

    I'm guessing this installer should probably pack all the versions of ZA [Pro, Security Suite, ZA-AV] in one installer because if it doesn't them those people are really crazy.



    Carlos
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Nope, its due to all language packs in one installer....
     
  5. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    If today was like six years ago, this thread will be much fuller. Anyways, any body who has tested this one?
     
  6. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i think that 149mb installer includes the option of trialling their security suite.......the same was case when last time i installed it......

    won't be trialling it though.......very happy with comodo.....
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    And if ZA was like it was back late ninetys or millenium yrs there be a lot more ZA in peoples sigs or maybe Tiny FW.:D
     
  8. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Ah! yes the golden age of firewalls. That is certainly bringing back memories. ;).

    Thanks.
     
  9. drakhil

    drakhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    this new version is great ; the earlier versions which almost destroyed the pc start up this works with amazing smoothness ,all tests which i could do passed :)
    keep it up Zone labs
    :D
     
  10. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    That's good to hear. There's still a need for a reliable stand-alone simple free firewall.
     
  11. SFC

    SFC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Running light and smooth alongside Kingsoft PC Doctor 3. :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  12. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    Great feedback guys! Thanks, might install this one of these days.

    What tests have you done?
     
  13. drakhil

    drakhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    I did basically inbound test at shields up, pcflank
    panda cloud on my system and restriction policies do not allow leak tests to run :p
     
  14. Tarantula

    Tarantula Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Posts:
    359
  15. drakhil

    drakhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    I could not do these as blocked by my security software :) panda cloud :)
     
  16. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    ZoneAlarm Free Firewall v10 may be a great fw, but the ui sucks!!! :(

    V9 has a great UI.;)

    I hope ZA 10 will soon be given ZA 9's UI.
     
  17. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Can you post any screenshots of the GUI?
     
  18. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
    ZoneAlarm Firewall, Free or Paid Subscription, still remains one of the top two standalone firewalls still avaliable to properly secure and protect Microsoft Windows.

    However.....one can still properly secure and protect Microsoft Windows by enabling the built in Windows Firewall suplamented with Microsoft Security Essentials.

    That is all one really needs, anything else is just toys for play and education existing possible breach in security if one is not knowledgeable to firewall rules.

    Thumbs Up To ZoneAlarm Firewall and Agnitum Outpost Firewall


    HKEY1952
     
  19. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    I gave it a try and regardless of any options I changed I would not get any popups for any application and it would create rather random rules for applications ( even with smartadvisor off and program filter to max).

    I decided to give it a try because they finally got rid of that ugly UI they used to have along with the ugly popups that came with it but a broken program is not worth it.
     
  20. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    Zonealarm free firewall 10 is still buggy. I tried it and my pc would not load desktop. It just froze at a blue desktop. It seems it is still buggy as always. I had to use CTM to revert to a good snapshot.
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,129
    Location:
    USA
  22. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
  23. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Same experience here with ZA Free.No pop-ups at all and i played a little with the settings.Removed.
     
  24. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Thanks for the link :) ! I agree with you, it would make sense for them to update the GUI in accordance to the paid products.
     
  25. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    No... Please open the link I had posted..
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.