ZoneAlarm® Firewall release is 15.159.17147

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by NICK ADSL UK, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,317
    Location:
    UK
  2. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    913
    Location:
    Southern California
    Thanks Nick.
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,670
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I am pleased to see that ZA continues full support for Win XP ===>See HERE!

    I shall buy ZA's Firewall Pro version as a gesture of support for their loyalty to us XP weirdos-- I might even use it someday.
     
  4. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,156
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah I noticed that maybe an alternative to outpost fw?
     
  5. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,156
    Location:
    UK
    Although it a year or two sub. Got used to my one off payments for opfw
     
  6. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    913
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'm just using the Windows 7 Firewall. Seems O.K. so far.
    I don't think there will be another Outpost Firewall Pro.
    I miss it already.
    I guess I can always install it again if I want to.
     
  7. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,156
    Location:
    UK
    re Windows Firewall :Never keen on a firewall that allows its own products to communicate unfiltered.
     
  8. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,670
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Yes! OP is abandonedware, sad to say, whereas ZD is still actively maintained. Over & above my software firewall, I have a router that includes a firewall (most routers do nowadays) & I have protected that router with a very powerful Password. The router protects me on incoming; my software firewall protects me on outgoing. Shazam! Life is good (^_^)
     
  9. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,437
    Location:
    USA
    Can I add an IP blocklist, network control rules and content control with ZA firewall? Have not been able to find much online including screenshots.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2017
  10. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,853
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I installed this V15 today. I was using V13 for a couple of years.
     
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,670
    Location:
    Hawaii
    ZoneAlarm is a strong firewall that is designed to be somewhat in the "set-it forget-it" category. You can read PC magazine's review of 2017 Zone Alarm at HERE. That review offers access to 10 screenshots.
     
  12. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,853
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I just use the ZA Firewall. Does anyone also use the ZA AV along with it and how do you like the AV part.
     
  13. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,437
    Location:
    USA
    Hello bellgamin...Yes, I had seen that PC article. I am one of many sad ex-OP users (15+ years) and just looking and hoping. Thanks for responding.
     
  14. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    301
    My only problem with ZoneAlarm is that you are not allowed to use an A/V of your choice..... However, it is a good stand alone FW.
     
  15. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,437
    Location:
    USA
    Good grief. Thanks for the info.
     
  16. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    301
    Compatibility Requirements
    ZoneAlarm 2017 is only compatible with MS Windows Defender, and is not compatible with any other antimalware software.

    To install ZoneAlarm 2017, you must first uninstall other antimalware software. Otherwise, you may experience OS stability and computer performance issues.
     
  17. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,437
    Location:
    USA
    WOW...Ok, thanks henryg.
     
  18. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,853
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I am running ZA 2017 Firewall along with WSA and HMPA without any known issues.
     
  19. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,889
    Location:
    localhost
    No sorry, wrong. Lazy marketing people just copy the same requirements for all ZA versions. BUT it applies only for ZA with AV, not for the firewall only version! :)
     
  20. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,853
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    That makes sense and thanks for the info fax.
     
  21. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,670
    Location:
    Hawaii
    ZA firewall works okay with ANY antivirus.
     
  22. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,437
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for guys for clearing that up.
     
  23. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    Shoddy attention to details like that leave a LOT of room for concern.
     
  24. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Used Outpost Pro for over 13 years. Used ZA before it and back to it now. Excellent Firewall. Always has been. And there is absolutely no issue running Antivirus software with this. Use it and enjoy.
     
  25. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    USA,IA
    ZoneAlarm free you can't open ports or add rules? Is that the only difference? Doesn't that seem useless for anyone to use the free version? I'm looking for a firewall.

    Thought about using tinywall but it seems it's no longer updated and abandoned
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.