ZoneAlarm 7.xx Product Line Released

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by QBgreen, Jan 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
  2. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    Does anybody know why the free version has tripled in size, the previous version 6.5.737.000 = 13Mb and the new 7.0.302.000 = 38.1Mb. I know bloat is the flavour of the month, and ok the new version has a new icon and a new coat of paint but tripling in size !! I should go and read the changelog but I'm hoping somebody else has already done that.
     
  3. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    From MajorGeeks:
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,962
    Is the AV still CA or have they switched to KAV? I heard they were switching.

    Also, is the whole security suite free now? Well I guess I could go look myself.
     
  5. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Yes, they are using KAV engine now. I´m not sure if they are also using the extended database (spyware/PUPS).
    No, apparently, they have unified the codebase and they only have one installer now. And the free version has become a kind of nagware.
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,962
    Well I think a KAV and ZA Pro firewall would be hard to beat. Thinkin' I may have to go for this offer on Frys.com.

    http://shop2.outpost.com/product/5034685

    Maybe I'll just not download it until my NOD32 expires in a few months. By then maybe some of the bugs that come with every new release will be worked out.
     
  7. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Based on the version history thread, I don't think the version comments quite covers the huge jump in MB size.


    Personally, I don't like programs that are "crippled" after a trial period. If you chose not to become a paid subscriber, then does the unused parts of the program suite still take up space on the HD?
     
  8. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I wouldn't call a 37.6 MB installation file for ZASS 7 taking up too much "space on the HD" unless you are storing your program installation files on an older flash memory card.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2007
  9. 12fw

    12fw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Canada
    Hmmm the ZA Antivirus version is just 25.5 and that is for an av and a fw.
     
  10. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    As there are 2 current threads active on this topic, and to save on double posting, I will close this thread in preference to the most active.

    Please post to this thread concerning this topic

    Thank you,
    Stem
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.