ZoneAlarm 7.xx Product Line Released

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by QBgreen, Jan 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
  2. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    Does anybody know why the free version has tripled in size, the previous version 6.5.737.000 = 13Mb and the new 7.0.302.000 = 38.1Mb. I know bloat is the flavour of the month, and ok the new version has a new icon and a new coat of paint but tripling in size !! I should go and read the changelog but I'm hoping somebody else has already done that.
     
  3. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    From MajorGeeks:
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Is the AV still CA or have they switched to KAV? I heard they were switching.

    Also, is the whole security suite free now? Well I guess I could go look myself.
     
  5. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Yes, they are using KAV engine now. I´m not sure if they are also using the extended database (spyware/PUPS).
    No, apparently, they have unified the codebase and they only have one installer now. And the free version has become a kind of nagware.
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Well I think a KAV and ZA Pro firewall would be hard to beat. Thinkin' I may have to go for this offer on Frys.com.

    http://shop2.outpost.com/product/5034685

    Maybe I'll just not download it until my NOD32 expires in a few months. By then maybe some of the bugs that come with every new release will be worked out.
     
  7. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Based on the version history thread, I don't think the version comments quite covers the huge jump in MB size.


    Personally, I don't like programs that are "crippled" after a trial period. If you chose not to become a paid subscriber, then does the unused parts of the program suite still take up space on the HD?
     
  8. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I wouldn't call a 37.6 MB installation file for ZASS 7 taking up too much "space on the HD" unless you are storing your program installation files on an older flash memory card.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2007
  9. 12fw

    12fw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Canada
    Hmmm the ZA Antivirus version is just 25.5 and that is for an av and a fw.
     
  10. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    As there are 2 current threads active on this topic, and to save on double posting, I will close this thread in preference to the most active.

    Please post to this thread concerning this topic

    Thank you,
    Stem
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.