Zone alarm

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Feb 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Hello can i use zone alarm security suite with avg antivirus together? thanks im not sure how good zone alarm detection is?? maddawgz
     
  2. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I don't see a reason why to 2 would not work together. If you are going for "free" Then you have gone down the right path.

    ZoneAlarm is a very good firewall and, if set up properly, can be very effective in keeping crap from getting in or out.
     
  3. INTOXSICKATED

    INTOXSICKATED Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    485
    Location:
    Suburbia Hell
    zass and avg work fine together. i believe the only problem, unless they fixed it in the last build, is that avg is still not recognized by the antivirus monitoring part of za.
     
  4. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Its not the free one its the security suite?... I disabled the antivirus in it for now while still using AVG so ur saying its ok to enable it in zone alarm? thanks..
     
  5. INTOXSICKATED

    INTOXSICKATED Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    485
    Location:
    Suburbia Hell
    i think capp was refering to avg free. zonealarm security suite (zass) will work with avg anti-virus, and actually the two get along quite nicely. the only issue i am aware of is that i believe avg is still not recognized by the anti-virus monitoring part of za.

    i did use zass for a short while, and i think your suspicions about their anti-virus detection are well founded. i would definitely keep a back-up on hand, and if you're looking for a free solution, avg or avast is a good choice. it's not that i dislike the ca vet av engine included with zass, but i didn't like how it was updated when incorporated into the firewall.
     
  6. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    I can't remember whether it was brought up in another thread here or over at avast, but it seems to be generally accepted that ZA won't recognize any a-v except their own. That's strictly a marketing ploy, to try to get you to buy theirs.

    As a P.S. -- "Accepted" is probably a poor choice of words. How about "recognized"?
     
  7. fortknox

    fortknox Guest

    ZA free recognizes NAV and tells me when it needs to be updated too.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.