Zone Alarm 5.1.011 (all products) update

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by marti, Jul 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    * Added Microsoft Security Center support
    * Added support for Microsoft SP2
    * Added anti-phishing protection for PayPal users
    * Fixed Internet Explorer browsing issues
    * Fixed IIS FTP Server issues
    * Fixed Visual Studio2002/2003 with IIS issues
    * Fixed AOL Browser issues
    * Fixed check for update issues (proxy configuration detection)
    * Fixed issues with checkdisk
    * Fixed more system stability issues
    * Routine maintenance items

    ZAFree: http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/freeDownload.jsp

    ZoneAlarm with Antivirus: http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/updates/zaav/zaav51011AEN1025.html

    ZAPro: http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/updates/zap/zap51011AEN1025.html

    ZoneAlarm Security Suite: http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/updates/zass/zass51011AEN1025.html
     
  2. f123

    f123 Guest

    Thanks for the links.

    F.
     
  3. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Danke mucho. Let's hope this one works.


    Damnit they still haven't fixed the Google Toolbar issue (search preferences not being saved).
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2004
  4. f123

    f123 Guest

    ZA Pro 5.1 still has problem remembering the last viewed tab after reboot. Will probably return to 4.5.594.

    F.
     
  5. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I haven't heard about this problem before. Details, please.
     
  6. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    That's a minor problem, in my opinion. It's not worth going back if everything else works.
     
  7. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    I'm sticking with version 4.5.594.000. If a more stable version of ZoneAlarm comes out, I'll upgrade. Until I see no more "Fixed (more) system stability issues", I won't be upgrading =P
     
  8. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Some the "maintenence items" most likely fixed more than a few issues. Keep your eye on various forums and see what others report. So far (in reading several forum on the web) folks are happy or are waiting to see what happens with others that do install it. I have not read about any serious issues.
     
  9. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Lookin' good here. W2K.

    FWIW, I didn't have any problems with the previous build either.
     
  10. f123

    f123 Guest

    OK, but the last visisted tab was not an issue in 4.5.594. I see no improvement with 5.1. However, I will test drive it for a week, just to confirm my preliminary observations.

    Memory load remains unchanged around 8MB. Still no cache cleaner and cookies manager for Firefox browser. The antivirus monitoring tab is another silly subroutine.

    Dunno if 5.1 will do better with the wallbreaker leak test.

    F.
     
  11. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    More of a irritant than a huge bug.

    ZA Pro 4.5, search preferences are saved for the google toolbar (language, # results per page, etc...).

    All ZA 5.X, versions, preference cookies are blocked even if you unblock all privacy options for google. So you get 10 results per page, all languages, moderate filter. I live by my google toolbar, so it really pisses me off.

    Other thing that gets me is that 2 year old NIS 2K3 does a better job blocking ads (flash ads included) than the much more recent and supposedly better privacy options in ZA.
     
  12. Owlbet

    Owlbet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Darn, a week ago today I updated to ZAP 5.0.590.043 totally bypassing the disastrous 5.0.590.015 release. The .043 release has been stable except CHKDSK doesn't work. I'll wait a bit as well before upgrading to the 5.1 release.
     
  13. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    tazdevl,

    Thanks for the details. I'm sure there is simple fix for this problem (in a ZA setting). I'm a fan of ZAPlus, so when that product was discontinued, I installed ZAPro, but turned off all privacy features.

    There are several levels of setting cookie control. If I understand the manul correctly, you can set the cookie options for each application (but I could be incorrect).
     
  14. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hi Owlbet,

    My friends at the PCQ&A forum are reporting that things are "wonderful:" http://www.pcqanda.com/dc/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=2&topic_id=313539
     
  15. Owlbet

    Owlbet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Thanks for the link, another site added to favorites. LOL, everyone and their mother must be downloading the new release. I clicked the button Check For Updates in Zone Alarm and I didn't get the familiar message that there is a new release and would I like to download it now. Instead it wanted to take me directly to Zone Labs and the page wouldn't load. Site is busy I suppose. I can wait. Besides, a lot of work goes into installing a new version of ZAP. I do a clean uninstall, CHKDSK, defrag, before I install a new version. I'm tired, so it can wait till the weekend. :D
     
  16. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hi Owlbet,

    Download links are in my initial post to this thread.
     
  17. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Trust me, I've messed around with things for weeks. This is a bug in the privacy functionality. It is somehow associating the search results produced by the toolbar with previous pages that have things blocked in them (ad, 3rd party cookie, bug, header).

    Privacy settings haven't changed between 4.5 and 5, so assuming all other things are equal, same settings should yield the same results.
     
  18. J at A

    J at A Guest

    Hi,

    Which steps have to been taken to upgrade ZA Free?
    I know in the past you had to be very cautious with upgrading, but I don't know how the situation is now...
    I'm sitting here at someonelse's PC with XP Home (I'm not familiar with XP) with ZA Free 5.0.590.043

    Thanks !
    Jan.
     
  19. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I would use "upgrade" instead of "clean install" unless you think there will be a problem. For example, if the user installed the first release of ZA 5.0, then rolled back to 4.5, then upgraded to the "043" version I would do "clean install."
     
  20. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Feedback from Zone labs:

    That is NOT a bug, it is AS DESIGNED. Now that it is a central area
    for many security products, after a restart of ZA or the computer it
    will always open to that main section, so users can see at a glance if
    anything is wrong or out of date! During a ZA session it DOES remember
    last tabs.
     
  21. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Feedback from Zone Labs: It must be a setting that you have, as others are running the Google Tool Bar, without problems.
     
  22. J at A

    J at A Guest

    Hi Marti,

    ZA Free 5.0 was/is the only one installed.
    Please tell me "how" to upgrade ;)
    Installing over the top?

    Thanks !!
    Cheers, Jan.
     
  23. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Jan,

    1. Download the update. Click on the "exe," the ZA installer will come up and ask "clean" or "upgrade" -- select upgrade.

    2. Follow the rest of the steps listed in the installer.

    3. Don't forget to reboot when the program is installed.
     
  24. J at A

    J at A Guest


    Thanks a lot, Marti !!! :)

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  25. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    taz,

    On the Google tool bar/ZA conflict, can we work one-on-one so I can get more details from you? Start a new thread, or PM me, whatever. I would love to solve this problem, as I haven't seen any posts (on many forums) on this subject.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. jhr76
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    1,486
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.