Zemana Key logger Test

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by datarishik, Aug 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. datarishik

    datarishik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Well, I am not being paranoid here but out of curiosity i downloaded this program(Keyboard.exe) from http://www.zemana.com/keylogger_test.aspx and ran it but Privatefirewall(I have this along with avast free) failed to recognise it and did not even list it in process monitor let alone triggering any alert. So is there any free program that can pass this test?
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

  3. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I read *somewhere* that System Protection is needed for certain aspects of keylogger protection. But I might be wrongly remembering. :blink:
     
  5. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Just tried:

    - The Anti Logger protection IS separate from the System protection.

    - Will the Anti Logger work with System disabled? YES.
     
  6. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Cant Online Armor Free do this? It lists programs that are capable of keylogging.
     
  7. datarishik

    datarishik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Thanks for the link guest. I'll try it and see if it really works.
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    No prob, Safe days
     
  9. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    Privatefirewall alerted me. It gave me 2 alerts. First that a new process was starting and keylogging activity when I ran the test program.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Unless you are an experienced HIPS user, i would avoid spyshelter and use a product that gives you more informative warnings.
     
  11. datarishik

    datarishik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Really?:oops: . I must have done something wrong. It could also possibly be due to the fact that I was running an old version of Privatefirewall(only last night I installed the new version). Anyways thanks for the information.:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2010
  12. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    GREAT news! Thanks.

    Please give info as to your PFW's slider settings . . .

    +(Main Menu - Internet Security & Network Security - High, Low, or Custom?)

    +(Process Monitor - High, Med, or Off?)
     
  13. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    I have both settings set to high. I set them to high when I first installed Private Firewall to see how noisy it would be for my normal day to day computer use. After I trained Private Firewall and it learn my installed software it has been quiet. I only get an alert when I install new programs or run already installed programs I haven't trained it to recognize yet.



    It's been running very smooth for the last 4 days. No complaints.
     
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Okay, I am on-topic because I am discussing how to get Private FW to "pass" the Zemana Key Logger Test.

    The key to passing this test (or to dealing with any questionable process) is to configure PFW as shown below. Doing this will give you more pop-ups, but it will also give you better alerts to possible malware.
    ScrHunt01 09-Aug-10.gif

    Also, set PFW's sliders to "High" as Malcontent has done.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2010
  15. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    Yeah, that's how I have mine configured. I now remember choosing these settings because Private Firewall was constantly alerting me to some specific traffic on my internal network. I totally forgot I made the changes. :oops:

    I didn't even remember making the changes until I saw bellgamin' post.
     
  16. datarishik

    datarishik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Thanks bellgamin for articulating it so well. I never realised this option. This is another reminder that default configuration is not always good.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.