Zemana AntiMalware 2 BETA

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Emre TINAZTEPE, Jan 20, 2015.

  1. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    Avira
    BitDifender
    ESET
    Kaspersky
    Microsoft
    Mcafee


    How many engines would you want to use?
     
  2. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    730
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations,

    Can Zemana Anti-malware 2 Beta unlock and remove various ransonware?
    It so, what are the steps involve?


    Moose's World
     
  3. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    If this has no RT protection, why does it run on startup in my tray?
     
  4. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Is the lifetime license good only for beta's? I'm assuming it will be a paid product?

    Is it safe to install new beta's over the old one's?
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,746
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/zemana-antimalware-2-beta.372569/page-2#post-2450199
    ---------------------------
    1. The lifetime license for the current beta will valid also for the paid version............
    2. Yes, it is. (Already done by auto update, new beta's installed on top of old ones).
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015
  6. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Overkill,

    Please see the post below with the startup in the tray.

    Zemana AntiMalware 2 BETA


    I believe it is a lifetime license if you have been a beta tester but will be a paid product, but i do not speak for Zemana or Emre.

    I have always done and have never had a problem. You can ckeck for updates through the program itself.

    Note I'm using the installed version not the portable version.
     
  7. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    Are you referring to encrypting ransomware such as CryptoWall? Since ZAM doesn't have real time protection it's not going to intercept and block ransomware in the act of encrypting data. Once the data is encrypted with RSA-2048 bit encryption nothing other than the actual keys can unlock it. It may be able to remove the malware itself, but that's usually not the problem.
     
  8. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Crypto's generally tend to 'sit' on machines for a bit in my experience. I've found them sitting around waiting for a trigger in several cases. Once triggered they systematically go through the system encrypting the files. Usually they start in Pictures/Document folders, and move in from there. You can have a key generated to break Crypto's encrypted files, almost all of their encryption has been broken by researchers at this point.

    https://www.decryptcryptolocker.com/
    FireEye and Fox-IT have partnered to provide free keys designed to unlock systems infected by CryptoLocker.
     
  9. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    I would rely more on a solid system image and file backup than I would on the chance that decryptolocker might be able to, by chance, discover a key that decrypts these files.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015
  10. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    Nice to know about this site/service, thanks. Is this a new service and is CryptoLocker different from CryptoWall in terms of cracking the encryption? Everything I've read about CryptoWall has said the encryption can't be broken.
     
  11. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    730
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations,

    Yes! But only removal of the trojan/virus of the encrypting ransomware! Hitman Pro Alert is oppose to stop the encrypting ransomware from encrypting files/documents? Not sure if this is the true in the cbyer world as we know it?

    I am more interesting in Zemana Antimalware 2 Beta cleaning abilities. To completely remove of viruses, trojans and bots adware ect....

    You can P.M. about different ways to backup and remove the encrypted files/documents that you think that are the best

    Moose's World
     
  12. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    I backup all my files to cloud storage and create a system image and a file backup on a portable hard drive. All syncing, backups, hard drive, etc., I disconnect so this type of ransomware cannot touch these files.

    From what I have read, the private keys were pulled off a server where cryptolocker was storing these keys so I don't believe the encryption is actually being cracked.
     
  13. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks dude
     
  14. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
  15. otgkhan

    otgkhan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    I have question about the Support Information listed on the site:
    Does this mean the scanner will not scan PDF, DOC, XLS files?
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, Hitman Pro Alert can stop CryptoWall and other encrypting ransomware in real time and prevent the data from being encrypted. MalwareBytes says that MBAM can also stop encrypting ransomware and there is also CryptoPrevent which sets policies to deny access to critical folders used by ransomeware. I use them all, but I don't trust them exclusively. You never know when a variant will appear that can get past current protections. Backups are still necessary.

    OK, back to Zemana Antimalware. I wonder if a realtime monitoring component is planned for the future?
     
  17. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Any good AV should stop Cryptos. I don't see the need to run a huge stack of tools for that purpose. The only time I have seen Crypto propogate, and gain a foothold has been companies/people without an AV, with an old AV, and in some cases, one not properly installed. I suppose it can happen otherwise, but at this point I haven't see it. Oh, a few MSE systems had it as well, but I don't count MSE as a real AV anymore.
     
  18. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    Australia
  19. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    730
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations, @Victek

    Appreicate the information! And agree with you!


    Moose's World
     
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    In my experience no AV can be trusted to detect all malware, so why would I trust one exclusively to specifically detect & block encrypting ransomware? A multi-layered approach is the way to go IMHO. That said products have to be chosen carefully for features and compatibility.
     
  21. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Keeping in mind I am speaking from an enterprise perspective. So Crypto has to get through Fortinet NGFW, and other protections prior to the desktop.
     
  22. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Have experience (2) BSOD over the past close to 2 weeks. So is ZAM 2 Beta the cause?
     

    Attached Files:

  23. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    @ Emre TINAZTEPE
    Ran scan on a downloaded app. Showed clean, a moment later BSOD.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. 142395

    142395 Guest

    I couldn't find portable version, where it is?
    It detected F-Secure Safe Search on IE, isn't it FP?
    After I clicked "repair" for that, there's no response and I felt it weired. I waited and finally clicked "Next", sure no problem, after confirmation it removed the search successfully, but it should say something after I clicked "repair", or alternativley firstly grey out "Next" button and only after I took any measure make it green and clickable.
    Also I find I can change Window size only via right-bottom, but why not all corners?
     
  25. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    hxxp://dl9.zemanaltd.netdna-cdn.com/AntiMalware/ZAMv2.2.1.460.exe
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.