ZA suite thoughts

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by gery, Nov 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Thoughts on ZASS please but no comparison
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    ZA Suite version 8.0 is a good improvement over version 7, faster and provides decent protection. It is generally a light but causes occasional delays in startup and shutdown on my Windows Vista PC.

    The Antivirus is still based on the old KAV 6 engine, so you do not get the KAV heuristics engine. However, OSFirewall is very efficient. The identity protection features are not available for my country so I am not able to comment on that.
     
  3. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    You may want to give a spin to the new ZAX (ZA Extreme security) currently in beta... www.zonealarm.com/beta

    Same protection as ZASS but with a IE/FF sandbox and more features are expected to be added soon. Working surprisingly fine here... ;)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  4. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Zone Alarm has very good reviews in PC mag 4 out 5:thumb:
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i myself will never run za stuff again..this is just my opnion though. i have always bever failed to have issues with their stuff
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I ran it when I ran XP. It runs on another PC here in the house that runs XP. I am running ZAAV on Vista myself.

    Did you want more specific thoughts?
     
  7. Soul II Soul

    Soul II Soul Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Erotic City
    Hi Guys,

    i have a question to ZA Pro User:

    I like this Software very much, but i have always one big Problem.
    The Internet Connection cuts from time to time of, like a reconnect.
    Very bad when i am playing an online-game ...

    I have this with all latest Versions, a friend have this breaks too.

    Anyone have the same Problems?

    Regards
    Soul
     
  8. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    yes please give as many as possible
    Thank you very much
     
  9. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    No, I have never had such problems with ZoneAlarm. It has always been a trouble free product for me. However, one thing I do not like about Check Point is the response time for support tickets - 2 to 3 days is too much when other vendors are able to provide responses wihin 24 hours. Not to mention the detail and quality of the response - well, its not bad but I have seen better......:doubt:
     
  10. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Is their antivirus any good? Is it a home antivirus engine or borrowed ?
     
  11. Soul II Soul

    Soul II Soul Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Erotic City
    @gery

    There works the Kaspersky V7 Engine.
     
  12. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    ok thank you
     
  13. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    v7? No, I think its v6......some of the drivers are version 7, but when looking at actual detection rates it is closer to 6.0 than 7.0......
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2008
  14. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    ZAAV V8 uses the Kaspersky AV engine V6.
     
  15. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Even the program's about dialog says that much, so yes it has to be the 6.0 version :)
     
  16. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    What about this new beta, ZAX? Does it still use Kaspersky v6?
     
  17. JRosenfeld

    JRosenfeld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Posts:
    117
    Have you tried running in Game mode (the more recent versions of ZA have this: right click on the systray icon, click game mode.
    From the help file:

    Game Mode minimizes interruptions while you play computer games by doing the following:

    Lets you temporarily allow or deny all program permission requests, so that requests are answered without displaying alerts.
    Postpones automatic scans and product updates.
    Suppresses all Informational alerts and all alerts in which you are prompted to make a decision. This includes:
    Alerts caused by Ask settings in the Programs List, such as permission alerts triggered by programs trying to send mail or act as servers.
    OSFirewall alerts, which prompt you to allow or deny behavior considered unusual or suspicious.
    ID Lock alerts and Outbound Mailsafe alerts.
    Game Mode settings do not override Block or Allow settings in your Programs List. If you have configured ZoneAlarm security software to always block a specific program, it continues to block that program even if you activate Game Mode with a setting of Allow.

    Game Mode remains active until you turn it off, or until you turn off ZoneAlarm security software or your computer.
     
  18. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Today zoneAlarm gives free ZoneAlarm pro for 1 year sub
    Check this out
     
  19. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It's FW & AS without AV :( ...oh wait it's free! :D ..oh wait i don't use 3rd party FW :(
    thanks anyway ;)
     
  20. Subgud

    Subgud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Norway
    I`ve tried ZAIS 2009 alongside Zonealarm Forcefield. They played nicely together. But i still had some issues regarding loss of internet connection from time to time. I have a 3 yrs licence for ZAISS. And every year i try and hope it will be better than last year!

    This years suite was very good! But i dont stick very long to one suite so thats way i dont use it regulary.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.