YouTube problem with Opera 11 and 12?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rasheed187, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can't believe it, but seems like some "genius" has introduced a new problem on YouTube. I don't know what the hell is wrong with web-developers nowadays, but this guy should be fired on the spot. :thumbd:

    But anyway, I noticed that it will now automatically scroll to the bottom of the page for no good reason when comments are loaded. It also happens without any extensions loaded. Can someone confirm? This is an example, but it can happen on any page:

    youtube.com/watch?v=MUrrNn9mn20
     
  2. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    This is not a problem of web developer's approach but in your old unsupported browser. ;-) They only pursue modern web standards and trends. No such problem observed in Opera 28.
     
  3. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    UK
    Although I use Palemoon as my first browser, I use Opera 12.17 as second choice, so went to Youtube to check your findings and I have to say that my Opera 12 did NOT scroll to the bottom like you described but stayed fixed on the screen at the top. I don't have any add ons, extensions or plug ins enabled in Opera 12, but I don't know how you have your Opera set up.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2015
  4. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    UK
    Everyone has their preferences and just because something is 'the trend' doesn't mean we should use it. I, like many people here don't like Browsers using the Blink/Webkit engine, and as most browsers seem to be moving in that direction leaves us with little choice but to use slightly older ones. As you can see above my browsers are Presto and Gecko based.
    To get back on topic, I don't see any such problem as the OP reported in my Opera 12 either.
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,284
    Location:
    England
    Youtube doesn't scroll to the bottom here either using Opera 12.17, it stays fixed.
     
  6. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    You misinterpreted my post. I wasn't talking about personal preferences and the like. I pointed that Presto is old and unsupported web engine what naturally can bring some issues and I thought the reported one might be one of them. OK I was wrong but it doesn't change anything on fact that Presto is abandoned engine and browsing issues stemming from this should have been expected.
     
  7. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Opera 12.17 on XP and Win7 - not jumping to the bottom here.
    Rasheed, any chance you're accidentally hitting something on the touchpad that does ctrl-End on that youtube page?
     
  8. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Update: Half an hour later
    Accidental discovery - reproducible like this: with mouse someplace on the main window where the activate plugin arrow is, move down and slightly to the right, crossing over the pictures of videos in the right column.
    As I reached the taskbar, the entire page moved close to the bottom.
    Notes aren't seen here, something is loading forever, which is perfectly fine by me.
     
  9. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    No problem with Youtube and Opera 12.17 here either. Disabling plus.googleapis.com with script keeper disables the comments iframe.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks everyone for testing. I understand what you're trying to say, but I have never seen anything more idiotic than this, they must have changed something in the code, causing this behavior, it's dumb and unacceptable. This shouldn't happen in any browser period.

    I actually like to see the comments, but for now I will disable that script, don't you just love script-blockers? Hopefully this will be a workaround, because this problem is making me sick.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Bingo! This is what I'm talking about, I knew I couldn't be the only one. And it also doesn't happen every time, so that's why the other guys are probably not seeing this. Just keep clicking on videos and scroll down a bit, and it will happen for sure. I'm not sure if it's triggered by the loading of comments, or by the loading of video suggestions in the right column.
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What the hell, this keeps getting weirder. Blocking comments solved most of the problems (it only happened once after that), but all of a sudden I can't block "plus.googleapis.com" anymore, I'm once again getting to see comments? Any idea, what the hell is going on?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEAP9AW00Hg
     
  13. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    Works exactly the same as before for me.
     
  14. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    UK
    Works fine for me too, no probs at all.
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can you perhaps post a screen-shot of the scripts that get loaded? I really can't block comments anymore.

    The weird thing is that the problem seems to have disappeared, without me having to block anything. Seems like they fixed the code on the page.
     
  16. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Rasheed187, these screenies are after your comment that it's now OK. This was on the link in your post #12. Scripts are allowed on youtube but iframes are blocked on every site. Is that what you needed from MisterB?
    youtube1_scripts.jpg youtube3_iframes.jpg
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ act8192

    What type of script-blocker is that? I would love to see a screen-shot of ScriptKeeper. For some reason I don't get to see "plus.googleapis.com" anymore, but the good news is that the problem is gone. I hope those idiots will stop messing around with the page.
     
  18. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Not sure what you are asking :(
    Not sure I posted what you wanted to see in the first place, I thought you wanted to see whatever is on the page :(
    In SeaMonkey I use NoScript script blocker, but in Opera - no extensions, nothing, just Opera standard filters, where I normally have javascripts off, but have to allow if I want to see youtube.
    plus.googleapis is inside the iframe, but iframes are blocked, so script won't run.
     
  19. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Exactly.. People using 15 year old, crappy browser tech can't complain.. I mean really?
     
  20. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    It's actually less than 2 years old. And Opera Presto with Script Keeper makes short work of uncovering the Youtube javascript hierarchy so those of us who want to watch youtube videos without the load of bundled bloat of JS crap can reduce the allowed domains to a mere 2 or 3.

    Rather than complaining some of us continue to use a superior browser that unfortunately is no longer updated. To each his own. Personally I despise Chrome and but others don't feel the same. I also despise the forced update mentality that seems to be more of a forced fashion statement than an improvement in technology. There is nothing in the Presto engine that a few code tweaks wouldn't fix as far as compatibility. It is not necessarily the slickest or fastest rendering engine but it's many features and control options are what make us like and use it.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Like MisterB has already said, Opera Presto has been dead for only 2 years, but that's no excuse for web-developers to develop crappy websites, and to screw around with code on pages. Somebody messed up, but seems it has been fixed. If you use standard HTML and not too much of that "AJAX JavaScript" crap, which is completely unnecessary, sites load just fine on Opera 12.
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes exactly, but can you perhaps post which scripts get loaded, I'm getting to see this:
     

    Attached Files:

  23. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I don't have localhost but otherwise that is what I have to load without comments.
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sorry I don't understand, can you post a pic? The thing is, as you can see, I don't get to see "plus.googleapis.com", with NoScript on FF I do get to see it, so I wonder how this is possible? And "localhost" is a reference to Ghostery.
     
  25. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    No screen grabber on this old Xp machine but I just tried again and you have to enable "apis.googles.com" to get the "plus.googleapies.com" iframe on the Scriptkeeper menu. Then you can enable the comments. So it is another level down in the script hierarchy.
     
Loading...