Your opinion of Online Armor Personal Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ratchet, Nov 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    It seems boot problem is resolved in the current version. Though, I had personally never had any. In any case .. my experience with OA is .. yes as new features come new problems also come, but then they get solved and then new advance comes. Non stop run :)
     
  2. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I have not used NODV3 av, but it may be a localproxy issue. Some AV`s do use a localhost proxy (such as KAV) so all filtering is put through the AV (wed shield or watever they call them). On such a setup there is a need to intercept localhost, which can be done in OA.
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I like it. People who tried to use CFP3 and had major problems are trying OA and visa versa.:D
     
  4. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Comodo 3.0 is way too buggy and too many options. I might try OA but for now I will stick with ZAAS which I got for free on patch Tuesday.
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    In its present form CFP3 is beyond my level of firewall knowledge even if I chose the simple firewall option. Then as you say, "too many options" (for a non-techie like me), so when it started screwing up I couldn't deal with it. I'll wait for a new build or two and try again. (maybe) OA looks like a good one to try, if the fact that it's simple is true.
    Be careful if you uninstall ZASS, as if you don't get it all out you'll have problems.
     
  6. DIgiDis

    DIgiDis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    49
    I replaced Outpost Pro with the paid version of OA2 and am loving it. No system drag, which is important since I edit a lot of HD video on my workstation. What I like most about it is OA has an "easy mode" which is simple to configure and gives really tight security with a minimum of popups. I don't want to play with my firewall all day long. If I did I would get Comodo. I also use Avira Premium for AV, and Firefox and NoScript for my browser. No conflicts whatsoever.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Folks this particular thread is about Online Armor Firewall. I believe there is indeed a comparison thread, and if not feel free to start one, but please stick to discussing OA in this thread.

    Thanks, Pete
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    One off topic post removed. Please stay on topic.

    Pete
     
  9. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Ive just installed and indeed there doesn't seem to be any conflict anymore which is good news for me.Im also not getting any problems with admuncher and OA either.Can anyone confirm whether this hold true for the paid version of OA and admuncher?
    tia
    ellison
     
  10. PhiloVance

    PhiloVance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I have bought it but am not using it now. I am using the well worn Kerio 2.1.5 and it works for me.

    Unbeknownst to me, Armor All went from a malware stopper (Version 1) to a full blown firewall (Version 2). I tried installing it and apparently it conflicted with Kerio. I did not know it was a firewall at the time, just a newer version of AO.

    Lots of troubles including how to put the key in so I could run paid, just kind of a mess. I never got to try the Version 2 really so I can't judge. Give the company a :thumbd: for not explaining everything up front.

    I might try again, but I really didn't want another firewall, so it just sits there in the download folder. o_O
     
  11. Jon_T

    Jon_T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    38
    Where did you download Online Armor 2 from?

    At the top all the Online Armor web pages there's:
    "Online Armor Personal Firewall v2 - A powerful security suite to help keep you safe online."
    http://www.tallemu.com/

    Online Armor allows you to uninstall the firewall.
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    You can install OA, and as part of the install do an uninstall of the firewall part. You might want to take a look now. Lots of changes and improvements.
     
  13. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Sadly, not. But the next release of Admuncher should be OA compatible.
     
  14. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Thanks for the info.At last i can give OA free a fair crack of the whip ,as its running nicely now.
    ellison
     
  15. PhiloVance

    PhiloVance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I d/loaded from the download page.

    Back in the day (June of this year) it had just come out and did not mention the firewall part (either that or I missed it). It was very early in the process and I had many emails and forum posts regarding it. I went on vacation shortly thereafter and never really got back to it. I've emailed Mike Nash today and he says my license is good forever with 1 year of updates, so I may install again in the future (after some of my current problems resolve. :oops: ).
     
  16. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Ok with all the hype about OA I thought I would try it. So I uninstalled ZAAS and installed OA. Quick and easy set up. No BS. I just sits there that what i like. Doesnt bug you and its the best firewall out there tested. Pretty impressed so far. Wish I could gain access it through the short cut and not the taskbar.
     
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,816
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Works magnificiently in tandem with EQSecurity HIPS, plus added bonus (important), OA is a decent enough firewall. I'm one of those who prefer to fill the SSDT table withg as much coverage as possible. OA is helped cover more area there and the results are evident on my XP's.
    Only problem i seen was on shutdown, a delay. I'm still examining this.
     
  18. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    You can edit your regisrty to shut down quicker. Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER_\ControlPanel\Desktop

    Change HubgAppTimeout to 4000
     
  19. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The shutdown delay is OA waiting to ensure that the shutdown is valid, making sure it protects until the last possible moment.
     
  20. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,816
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Greetings Mike

    Somehow i held a suspicion that OnlineArmor was holding ground to the very last second as you suggest. The corner Icon was evident of the fact OA was not done yet.

    Very brilliant idea and a really encouraging all around application. You guys done some serious homework on this. Good job indeed!

    EASTER
     
  21. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    First class product!

    I purchased OA and then wanted to upgrade to OA+, and a pm to Mike sorted me out with a good deal within hours. Online Armor now with the Kaspersky engine is keeping my machine safe with no drag at all.

    Top programme with top service from the developer!

    :D
     
  22. ASM

    ASM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    WOW suppose to be the three letters word give to MS VISTA BUT NO... OA deserves it.

    Wonderful product... Thanks MikeNash.:thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  23. Wok

    Wok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I am unable to access it through the short cut or
    taskbar icon !!!!!!:mad:

    Anyone else having the same problem o_Oo_O??
     
  24. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yes :(

    But we have fixed this issue, and it will be included in the next release
     
  25. ChicknDip

    ChicknDip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    Warning ! When uninstalling Online Armor it will dump a lot of WinSock2 protocol parameters in the registry, eventually crapping out the possibility to reach the net, and screw other tools that depend on them, Ie NOD32 IMON. :thumbd:
    You can see the crap that was added with AutoRuns !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.