Yet another SATA issue

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by johnnybregar, Aug 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnnybregar

    johnnybregar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    First post.

    I am trying to restore an image that is stored on a SATA drive using the latest update of TI 9.0 downloaded yesterday. I cannot see the SATA drive using the TI rescue disc. So I found the threads about BartPE and went through the somewhat time consuming task of creating a PE disk with SATA drivers and the Acronis plugin. Still no go. Can't see the SATA drives.

    In an effort to cut right to the chase, I have done dir /s of the driver set that I dowloaded from ASUS for my A8V SATA drivers and saved it as a text file and attached it to this post.

    When I made my Bart PE disc, I put the entire contents of D:\temp\VIARAID\DriverDisk\SATA (you can see what's in there by looking at the txt file) into the C:\pebuilder3110a\drivers\SCSIAdapter folder. I did not flatten anything, just put the files and folders in there as they were organized in the VIARAID driverdisk folder.

    Um, help? I really need to know just exactly which drivers (assuming these are even the right ones) to put in the Bart PE folder so that it sucks them in when it builds PE.

    As a side note, it sure seems ridiculous that there aren't a set of industry standard SATA drivers one can simply throw into the system folder and make it all work right...

    Thanks for any help you can offer, I would love to get my machine back up and running.

    jb
     

    Attached Files:

  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Take a look at this link http://ubcd4win.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=8064. Its a much improved method of adding Mass Storage Drivers to a BartPE build.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello johnnybregar,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persist, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. johnnybregar

    johnnybregar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Built the ubcd disc and tried it. Still no go. I need to have someone show me exactly what drivers to put into the drivers dir so PE picks them up or I'm sunk...

    First person to set me up gets $25 via paypal if it works. Serious.

    Thanks,

    jb
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    johnnybregar,

    Can you download the drivers that go on a floppy for the Press F6 function? These files go in the BartPE SCSIAdapter folder. That's it.
     
  6. johnnybregar

    johnnybregar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Yes, (although I'd have to buy a floppy drive) but I don't know exactly which files are the driver files in the zipped folder I attatched to the original post. Are they just:

    viasraid.cat
    VIASRAID.INF
    viasraid.sys

    is that it?
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You don't need a floppy drive. There should be a download for these files. Is your SATA/RAID controller Intel or Asus?
     
  8. johnnybregar

    johnnybregar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Ha!! I finally figured it out. I guess I'll paypal myself $25...

    It would really help if this were highlighted in the PE help documentation a bit more - you need to edit the .oem file and include it in the driver folder. GREAT reference on how to do this here: http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/help/english/drivers.htm If you follow the steps there exactly, it tells you what folders to put where, what drivers to put where, and how to edit the .oem file.

    Excerpt from the site in case it ever goes down follows:

    Adding drivers
    Adding storage and network drivers to BartPE is very easy. If you add drivers to the drivers folder pebuilder will include them automatically.
    Drivers other than storage and network are currently not supported!

    You need to copy the Windows XP or Windows 2003 driver files in to the correct location yourself.
    Here is where to store drivers:
    Type of driver location
    Storage drivers drivers\SCSIAdapter
    Network drivers drivers\Net

    Example 1:
    Assume you are adding a network driver from broadcom, the NetXtreme BCM57xx. That driver comes as a .zip file called win_xp_2k3_32-7.86.zip. Now you create a new folder "b57xp32" (you can take any name you want) in drivers\Net to hold this driver. Extract the driver .zip file in this new folder and you are done.

    This is how the drivers folder should look like:

    drivers\Net
    drivers\Net\b57xp32
    drivers\Net\b57xp32\win_xp_2k3_32
    drivers\Net\b57xp32\win_xp_2k3_32\b57win32.cat
    drivers\Net\b57xp32\win_xp_2k3_32\b57win32.inf
    drivers\Net\b57xp32\win_xp_2k3_32\b57xp32.sys


    Storage drivers are added by pebuilder using their txtsetup.oem file. As a txtsetup.oem file can hold several drivers, you should edit this file and exclude the drivers you don't want to use from the [SCSI] section.

    Example 2:
    Assume you are adding a storage driver from adaptec, the Ultra320. The driver comes as a self-extractable .exe file called u320_fms300s4_win.exe. Now you create a new folder "adpu320" (you can take any name you want) in drivers\SCSIAdapter to hold this driver. Extract the drivers from the self-extractable .exe file in this new folder. Open the file drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\TXTSETUP.OEM in a text editor and search for the [scsi] section, exclude drivers that are not for Windows XP/2003, for example Windows NT 4.0 or Windows 2000. Also exclude drivers that are not compatible with your processor architecture.

    Here is a piece of the txtsetup.oem file:

    ...
    [scsi]
    #a79xxNT40 = "Adaptec Ultra320 SCSI Cards (Win NT 4.0)"
    #a79xxNT50 = "Adaptec Ultra320 SCSI Cards (Win 2000)"
    a79xxNTIA32 = "Adaptec Ultra320 SCSI Cards (Win XP/Server 2003 IA-32)"
    #a79xxNTIA64 = "Adaptec Ultra320 SCSI Cards (Win XP/Server 2003 IA-64)"
    #a79xxNTAMD64 = "Adaptec Ultra320 SCSI Cards (Win Server 2003 AMD64)"
    ...

    Notice that the NT 4.0, Win 2000, IA-64 and AMD64 drivers are excluded by the comment (#) sign.

    This is how the drivers folder should look like:

    drivers\SCSIAdapter
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\Create a folder here and put the storage drivers in it
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\MAXIO64K.REG
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\README.TXT
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\TXTSETUP.OEM
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\U320DSK1
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN32BIT
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WINNT40
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN32BIT\ADPU320.CAT
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN32BIT\ADPU320.INF
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN32BIT\ADPU320.SYS
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\AMD64
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\INTEL64
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\AMD64\ADPU320.CAT
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\AMD64\ADPU320.INF
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\AMD64\ADPU320.SYS
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\INTEL64\ADPU320.CAT
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\INTEL64\ADPU320.INF
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WIN64BIT\INTEL64\ADPU320.SYS
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WINNT40\ADPU320.SYS
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WINNT40\HOTP320.REG
    drivers\SCSIAdapter\adpu320\WINNT40\OEMSETUP.INF

    You could remove the NT4 and 64bit folders, but it is not really necessary, because the files are not copied by PE Builder.
     
  9. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Glad to see you got it sorted out. Some of the documentation for BartPE is cryptic at times.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.