Yahoo Messenger is now semi-spyware

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by no13, Feb 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    any convo I had with my friends today, I kept seeing messages from a certain user in the converstaion.... messages that were yahoo searches.... messages that came after I typed in a word like "soldier" twice or thrice.
    They were from a "magenta" colored user called "Yahoo Search!"... the actual buddies on Yahoo being black font faces.

    Comments?
    need a screenshot?
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    A screenshot would be appreciated.
     
  3. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    here it is...

    But be warned... I need your comments now.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I didn't experience that when I trialed Yahoo! Messenger a month ago..Does this mean they're using some sort of keylogger to send everything you type in to them? This is bad. Companies have no right, and I mean NO RIGHT to invade our privacy...What is the world coming to?
     
  5. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    few possiblities cross my mind. One is, your friends are not using any kind of plugins for Yahoo?

    Jimon
     
  6. INTOXSICKATED

    INTOXSICKATED Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    485
    Location:
    Suburbia Hell
    make sure u are running the latest version, there was a yahoo! messenger update released on sunday. check this out. personally, i switched to yahelite because it's more secure.
     
  7. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    That reminds me, why not use something like Trillian. I'm currently using trillian at the moment and it allows me to sign into MSN, Yahoo, AIM and ICQ all at the same time, the program never seems to crash or get confused even thought its connected to 4 different services.

    And its free, assuming you get basic version over the more proffessional, however basic is just fine.

    Jimbob
     
  8. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    are you gaim for Gaim?
    anyone reviewed it before?

    JB... nope. No plugins. I'll ask for a recheck though...never hurts, does it?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.