Yahoo Messenger 7.5 Has Spyware Help!

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by PC-Guy, May 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PC-Guy

    PC-Guy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Hey everyone:'(

    I have formatted twice already and concluded that i'm getting this new spyware from the new version of "Yahoo Messenger 7.5", the spyware name is "CnsMin" 8 Objects total. I have tried downloading the older versions of Yahoo Messenger but they are now all packed with this same CnsMin, spyware.

    The only program so far detecting CnsMin, is Ad-Aware. I'm about to format again to remove this all from my computer and registry. Is this really spyware or does Ad-Aware have to add it to thier definition files? I have an up-to-date version of Ad-Aware and it still detects it as spyware.

    I use Yahoo Messenger for work, and I need to have it installed, I do ALOT of online banking etc... Should I leave this CnsMin on my computer and just ignore it? or what should I do? I don't want anyone seeing what I do while banking or seeing my files while online.o_O


    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 14, 2006
  2. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Do not waste your time, that looks like a false positive. I had this alert with Ad-aware lately, there were only registry keys flagged as spyware, no files. And none of the symptoms described about computers infected with cnsmin...

    Of course, the computer was actually clean ;) .

    Cheers,
    nicM
     
  3. Astronomy

    Astronomy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    It's a chinese spyware,I recommend you to use microsoft antispyware to remove it
     
  4. eurekamind

    eurekamind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    220
    CnsMin
    ==========

    [1]
    ...more details

    [2]
    ...more details

    [3]
    ...more details


    Solution


    .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 21, 2006
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,
    Why don't you use open-source GAIM, which is also compatible with Yahoo network?
    Mrk
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,161
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    i used adaware to get rid of it then uninstalled yahoo
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,161
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    its gone from my system
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    How u can be sure that it is not a false posotive. Only adaware is detecting it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.