Yahoo Messenger 7.5 Has Spyware Help!

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by PC-Guy, May 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PC-Guy

    PC-Guy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Hey everyone:'(

    I have formatted twice already and concluded that i'm getting this new spyware from the new version of "Yahoo Messenger 7.5", the spyware name is "CnsMin" 8 Objects total. I have tried downloading the older versions of Yahoo Messenger but they are now all packed with this same CnsMin, spyware.

    The only program so far detecting CnsMin, is Ad-Aware. I'm about to format again to remove this all from my computer and registry. Is this really spyware or does Ad-Aware have to add it to thier definition files? I have an up-to-date version of Ad-Aware and it still detects it as spyware.

    I use Yahoo Messenger for work, and I need to have it installed, I do ALOT of online banking etc... Should I leave this CnsMin on my computer and just ignore it? or what should I do? I don't want anyone seeing what I do while banking or seeing my files while online.o_O


    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 14, 2006
  2. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Do not waste your time, that looks like a false positive. I had this alert with Ad-aware lately, there were only registry keys flagged as spyware, no files. And none of the symptoms described about computers infected with cnsmin...

    Of course, the computer was actually clean ;) .

    Cheers,
    nicM
     
  3. Astronomy

    Astronomy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    It's a chinese spyware,I recommend you to use microsoft antispyware to remove it
     
  4. eurekamind

    eurekamind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    220
    CnsMin
    ==========

    [1]
    ...more details

    [2]
    ...more details

    [3]
    ...more details


    Solution


    .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 21, 2006
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    Why don't you use open-source GAIM, which is also compatible with Yahoo network?
    Mrk
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    i used adaware to get rid of it then uninstalled yahoo
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    its gone from my system
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    How u can be sure that it is not a false posotive. Only adaware is detecting it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.