yahoo mail help

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Jul 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    Hi

    i created a new yahoo mail account

    it's ends with @yahoo.com
    but i live in europe
    i can't use pop3 or imap because i guess it looks an american account and need a pro version
    but in europe it's free
    when i log in with firefox it's in english
    POP-out and forwarding -> i get
    is there a way or a tutorial to fix it?
    i have another previous account that works great

    are they still free for europe?
    thanks
    cheers
     
  2. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Don't even try, Yahoo's a disaster - they won't allow basic stuff like mail forwarding, let alone POP. Use GMX.com instead, or any of the big names.
     
  3. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Yahoo never had mail forwarding, POP or IMAP access for their free email service. That has always been reserved for their paid mail customers. So, if you want to download your mail to an email client like outlook, you need to switch to a different company.
     
  4. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    i have always had a full free service here in europe (outside uk)
     
  5. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Really! I have had a Yahoo mail account since 1997 and I have never seen Yahoo offer free POP or free mail forwarding.
     
  6. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    mantra, There are two things to try.

    Go to your Account Information page. Under Account Settings and check the following and set to the correct information. This may or my not help.

    1,. "Set language, site, time zone"

    2. "View/Update your saved locations"

    @Raza0007 and Pinga. I have 4 free Yahoo! Mail Accounts all of them have POP3, Mail Forwarding and IMAP access.
     
  7. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks for the tip but I won't relocate to the Phillipines anytime soon :D
    And I've long given up on Yahoo, there are better mail providers.

    So apparently Yahoo's offerings are diversified depending on location. In Europe, they are offering this:
    http://overview.mail.yahoo.com/enhancements/mailplus

    For those who need it, there's a workaround called YPOPs!
    http://ypopsemail.com/
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Not to hijack, but how is GMX.com for email? Have you ever tried it?

    Thanks.
     
  9. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    For over a decade :p
     
  10. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Are these accounts on Yahoo.com or Yahoo.com.ph ?
     
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    thanks
    i tried them but no good luck
    by the way i have older yahoo account with pop3 and they work 100%
     
  12. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    Three are yahoo.com, one is yahoo.com.ph. One yahoo.com address was originated in the US back in 2003.
     
  13. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    I used to use YPOPs!, it was a great program. It is no longer developed, last release was in 2009.

    FreePOPs might be a better choice. I used to use that too. Now no longer needed.
     
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    update
    i guess it did work
    now i can use imap with thunderbird
    i will try to add to my galaxy samsun too
    thanks! cheers:thumb:

    ps by the way yahoo looks silly because via browser (firefox) that can know the location
     
  15. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I also have a free yahoo pop mail account however my yahoo address ends in .co.uk not com.Pop server that i use is pop.mail.yahoo.com port 995
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    hi
    is there a way to use the unlimited space to store files?
    is there a program to do it?
    thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.