Yahoo Mail Classic-Attempt to Force an Upgrade?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TheKid7, Jan 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    My E-Mail Address "Autocomplete" stopped working in my Yahoo Mail Classic a few days ago. I searched around the web and found that it looks like Yahoo 'may' have disabled "Autocomplete" to push users to the New Yahoo Mail.

    I switched to the New Yahoo Mail and found out that E-Mail Address "Autocomplete" does work in the New Yahoo Mail.

    What are your experiences? Opinions?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I actually preferred Yahoo! Mail Classic, but I think you are right, they want to phase it out in a piecemeal fashion. I ended up using the new mail. Interestingly I discovered that I could easily use Classic Mail in K-Meleon, but eventually I found that certain things like autofill weren't working properly & it wouldn't recognise saved email addresses. :'(
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I was going to give the new Yahoo mail a try but my browser is not supported so I guess they can suck eggs. I use Opera 11
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, it says that for SeaMonkey as well, but if you click 'Go to new Yahoo! Mail anyway' (or words to that effect) you should be able to in Opera (I can). I can't seem to block the ads permanently in Opera in the new Yahoo! Mail though. :thumbd:
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Yep I tried again and this is what I get.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I'm staying with Classic until I'm forced to change. I've heard mutterings about the new stuff not playing nice with Chrome.
     
  7. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Yahoo! Mail Classic for me, too.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have no explanation for that. Mine is working in Opera.
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It can be a bit sluggish in Chrome sometimes. Apart from that, it is OK.
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I'm using the classic edition in ymail. I guess maybe rocketmail has classic available too? not sure...I like the version prior to them putting in that chat window- it drives me nuts.
     
  11. steve161

    steve161 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    681
    Location:
    New York
    Same here. I did not even get the warning, which I usually do with Firefox.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.