Yahoo email not POP3?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JerryM, Jan 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I am using Mailwasher Pro, and it works well with my regular email, and Hotmail accounts.
    I understand that for a fee Yahoo email will also work with Mailwasher.

    Anyone use this combination or can answer the question? o_O

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    My understanding is that you only get POP3 server for PAID Yahoo mail. I tried getting POP3 service into Outlook 2007 with free Yahoo and it was no go, so I gave up on that as I won't pay just any old yahoo.:rolleyes:
     
  3. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    You need a fee-based service to use POP eMail directly with Yahoo. Yahoo Pop Plus, for example. Another alternative, acceptable to some folks perhaps, is to use a proxy service ala YPOPS.
     
  4. Arup

    Arup Guest

  5. colinp

    colinp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Posts:
    41
    Maybe I don't understand what you are trying to do, but, I have several yahoo and gmail accounts accessed through Thunderbird. In the user options for both, there is a pop setting that you enable then configure the server settings in the mail client. There is no charge, however the Yahoo account is a Yahoo.ca account, if that makes any difference.

    Colin
     
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks again for the help.
    Colin, I am trying to get Yahoo mail without having to sign in to Yahoo directly.

    My Mailwasher Pro tells me what is on the server for my accounts, and if I do not delete it downloads to my Outlook Express but does not work with Yahoo. I was told that it was because Yahoo was not POP3. I already have a Yahoo account but I am not aware of the Yahoo.ca account.

    I am going to have to look into the other alternatives offered.

    Thanks again, All,
    Jerry
     
  7. wideglide36

    wideglide36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    207
    Location:
    Central PA
    Hey,
    I don't know if this will help you but if you want pop3 access for free from yahoo you could try signing up from their UK site.

    I know you can sign up there using a yahoo .co.uk or ymail or rocketmail and get an account with free pop3 access or mail forwarding.

    Good luck.
     
  8. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Jerry, no sense in you trying Pop Peeper either because I ran into the same situation with the free version of Yahoo.
     
  9. wideglide36

    wideglide36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    207
    Location:
    Central PA
    Hey,

    I am currently using pop peeper and it retrieves all the yahoo.com and the others that I mentioned earlier.
     
  10. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Yahoo UK or USA?
     
  11. wideglide36

    wideglide36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    207
    Location:
    Central PA
    Both.
     
  12. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    If you have a Yahoo! account that does not currently have POP, then yes if you upgrade to Yahoo! Plus you will get POP. I would wait, I suspect that eventually all Yahoo! accounts will have POP capability for free.

    I have two free Yahoo! accounts. I have a yahoo.com account created in Japan that is several years old, it does not have POP access and currently I would have to upgrade to Yahoo! Plus to get it. My yahoo.com.ph account does have POP access. I also have friends who have created ymail.com and rocketmail.com accounts that have POP access.

    If appears that if you have a yahoo.com account POP is out unless you pay for it. I don't know if that applies to newly created yahoo.com accounts. Of course you mileage will vary. One thing for sure free POP or paid for POP looks to be regional. I also suspect that POP will eventually be free with older yahoo.com accounts too.

    A couple of other options for a Yahoo account without POP access are YPOPs! and FreePOPs. With YPOPs! you can both receive and send messages. FreePOPs only receives.
     
  13. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Chrisretusn,

    Thanks for the info. I have decided to wait and see what happens. I don't mind the $20 if I think I need it. As of now I am not sure how much advamtage it would be. Thanks again.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  14. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Or Yahoo itself will cease to exist. :(
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.