Xvirus Personal Guard

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Xvirus, Jan 10, 2015.

  1. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 10, 2015
  2. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    891
    Location:
    UK
    Who are the definitions from?
    or are they your companies research?
     
  3. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    .NET Framework 4.5 is required, for those concerned.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,885
    Location:
    Canada
    interesting :) but netframeo_O
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    8,450
    Location:
    England
    What part does the cloud play?

    Notice that on main page at the top under 'support' the Xvirus cloud links goes to a suspended account page

    http://www.mysecuritywin.com/
     
  6. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,707
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Context menu scan in v5.2 does not work properly on my PC.
    Can you check it?
     
  7. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    We get the definitions from submissions and from our research.
     
  8. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    We are getting a new host for the cloud. Thanks for letting us know
     
  9. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    What does not work? It does not register or the scan doesnt start?
     
  10. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    "we get" "our research" I thought Xvirus was a one man show from what I read on malwaretips, or have it grown that quickly so you now have employees ?
     
  11. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    Only one developer(Me) but I have people helping me getting signatures or designing the GUI
     
  12. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,707
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I have a folder with 8 malware files.

    1) Right click on a folder and select "Scan With Xvirus". 8 files are scanned (1.jpg).
    2) Enter that folder, select all files and scan them. Only 1 file is scanned (2.jpg and 2a.jpg).
    3) Enter any folder that has subfolders and files. Select all and make right click. There is no "Scan With Xvirus" option (3.jpg).
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      84 KB
      Views:
      135
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      153.2 KB
      Views:
      127
    • 2a.jpg
      2a.jpg
      File size:
      164.4 KB
      Views:
      129
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      228.3 KB
      Views:
      128
  13. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    You can only scan 1 file or 1 folder.
     
  14. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,707
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Maybe you could improve scanning to include more scenarios....?
     
  15. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,168
    Location:
    USA
  16. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    Thanks you for your help. Ill fix both issues asap :)
     
  17. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Good day.
    If I select the root of a HD partition, will it scan the whole partition or just the root?
    IOW, does it scan folders recursively?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2015
  18. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Just installed it on a spare, older PC running XP SP3.
    Why is it trying to access the floppy drive continuously?

    Later edit:
    Ran a quick scan.
    During the scan it indicated 3 threats, but afterwards there's nothing about them.
    I get a green checkmark "You are secure", and there's nothing in the quarantine folder.
    Opening the History, the scan log shows three threats, but nothing else.

    Remark on the GUI:
    I really hate those dark themes.
    That's just me though. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2015
  19. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    About the floppy disk is strange, it should only scan pen drives. About the 3 threats you have to click "show threats" and remove the files.
     
  20. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Thanks.
    Upon reboot, something was not working correctly.
    It has been uninstalled.
    Good luck with the product, but I'm done with it.
     
  21. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Coz .NET changes things how? It's just a runtime library like the VS C++ everyone has installed extra and no one is complaining.
     
  22. @Dani Santos

    The domain you claim (AntiVirus or AntiMalware) is over crowded. So what set its apart from the competition (what does the behavioral guard monitor for example) and how can your proof your promise (cloud fine, but with no or limited automated analysis and expert analysis resources how could your cloud ever compare to blacklist database size of mainstream AV's).

    Regards
     
  23. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    It is a second opinion antimalware like malware bytes. I dont need to prove it why it is better than avast for example. I just need to prove that xvirus is better than malware bytes, iobit malware figther, ect...
     
  24. Xvirus

    Xvirus Dani Santos

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    Thanks for testing it :)
     
  25. Davi, thx for answering

    Then 'just' proof that something magic (like the behavioral element) adds something that compensates the lack of malware fingerprints, because it is not credible that with your limited resources you will be able to keep up with MBAM for example (reason why iobit copied their database in the past).

    Regards Kees
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. novirusthanks
    Replies:
    76
    Views:
    3,846
  2. Xvirus
    Replies:
    101
    Views:
    5,643