Xubuntu vs Ubuntu GNOME

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by dogbite, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Guys, quick question here.
    What is lighter in resources between the two?

    Disk space usage does not matter, I am focusing on CPU and RAM resources.

    I want to install either one today on my new Lenovo B50-70 which comes without any OS.

    Thanks.
     
  2. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    839
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Xubuntu hands down.
     
  3. UnknownK

    UnknownK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Unknown
    GNOME 3 is actually one of the heaviest DE in terms of using CPU and RAM resources.
     
  4. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    This, and the GPU resources.
     
  5. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Ok thanks all..I go for Xubuntu.
     
  6. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    I guess 4GB RAM are enough for office applications, browsing, music listening, etc.
    Should I consider to add another 4GB to make the experience smoother or it's just a waste, given Xubuntu's lightness?
     
  7. UnknownK

    UnknownK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Unknown
    Just a waste, 4GB is more than enough.
     
  8. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    Brasil
    RAM isn't magic and won't make things "smooth" unless you're actually running out of it. 4GB is enough to play most games on Ultra settings (720p) and even render kind-of-complex 3D scenes (though not too complex).

    With 4GB you can use KDE 5 or whatever DE you want and you'll still have plenty of RAM left to use Firefox, watch HD movies, play games, do LibreOffice, all together.

    There are a few things that 4GB can't do, like play the un-optimized FlightGear simulator, or render complext 3D scenes with millions of poligons.

    Usually 8 GB is more than enough for Linux users and I highly recommend getting +4GB if you're running out of memory while using your most wanted programs.
     
  9. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Well, actually I've found a deal for a Crucial 4GB RAM module at 15€ and I bought it.
     
Loading...