XP wont Shut Down

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Huwge, Apr 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Just moved to XP on a new machine. After installing NOD the machine will not shutdown. States IMON is running. I wait for it to close IMON but I get some memory error I believe. I even killed NOD and machine wouldt shut down for about 10 mins. It was in a loop where it kept on waiting for IMON to finish. I have done a search but can only find slow shutdown and not a 'fails to shutdown'

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. bsilva

    bsilva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    MA, USA
    Are you running the latest? I also had a similar problem with unistalling NOD32 that it would hang the machine, but they fixed that.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Im running latest...and its not a shutdown time problem, it wont shutdown at all, goes into a contionuous loop of xp trying to close IMON.
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Huwge, can you please download a FRESH copy of the Nod32 BETA from www.nod32.com

    Uninstall your current version.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  6. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Beta the only way to go ?
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    In this instance I would say yes, basically it is a final release.

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes for now unless you want purchase NOD32 V2?

    It runs great as it is!!

    Cheers
     
  9. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Hmm, is there some confusion?. I have NOD version 2 fully paid up. o_O
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    No confusion here, try what I suggested, make sure you remove the Eset folder and see how you go with the BETA.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Okay, I've downloaded beta and run it. I have a lot of locked files, not just the usual four...some being

    NTuser.dat
    NTuser.dat.log
    Mousepointmanagerremotedatabase
    system32/config

    I will try and shutdown now and see if works but can any shed light on the locked files please?. At the end of the log it only shows 4 locked but I can count many more ? o_O
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    As a general rule, [4] locked files are simply "swap" files and as such can not be infected, the general advice is to ignore these locked warnings.

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2005
  13. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Well, shutdown ok there, but I see that a new beta out according to Ron :rolleyes:

    Any recommended settings?. I tried to stay with Blackspears stickie but seems more options now. Soory bout all the questions. Just upgraded to XP and still getting the machine set up to my liking :p
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Just go through each module and each of the dropdown boxes that have file types and settings, and adjust each, it is fairly similar to what I have in the sticky thread, and I'll update that thread when the final release comes out.

    Good to see your problem has gone away...

    Cheers :D
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sorry did not want to confuse you o_O What I wanted to say was go back and install V2.12.3 to see if that works!! But I see that you got the problem solved with the Beta which is great!!:D

    Cheers,
     
  16. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Most of the files you have listed (NTuser.dat, NTuser.dat.log, system32\config\...) are related to the Windows registry. Since they are in active use by Windows, NOD32 is not able to scan them. This is normal for these files.

    The "[4] File cannot be open" message at the bottom does not mean that 4 files cannot be open. [4] is used as an asterisk/footnote, like when are reading a book. *4

    I'm not sure if that explanation made any sense. :doubt:
     
  17. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Alglove, been running NOD a while and always thought 4 meant 4 heh, learn someting new every day :D
     
  18. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Seems I spoke too soon. Imon gets the window...not responding closing down and goes into a continual loop....does this mean the end of my love affair with NOD ? :'(
     
  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    It's time to send an email to support@nod32.com and place a link back to this thread.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  20. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Well.....it seems I may have sorted it. I did a search and found some people had the same problem as myself which was cured by removing Windowsblinds. This a new machine which had it preinstalled. I have removed it and shutdown twice with no problems.

    On another note I see that beta is going to a proper release soon. Will I have to download again or will it just upgrade and will I have to pay again?

    Thanks in advance
     
  21. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  22. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Good to see, and thanks for keeping us in the loop, it helps us all to learn...

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.