XP SP3 (32bit) running ESS 4.0.424 and a FireFox 3.0.10 user? Need your help to check

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by denno, May 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. denno

    denno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Posts:
    49
    if youre running Windows XP SP3 32bit (home/pro) and ESS v4.0.424.0 as well as Firefox (3.0.10 here), I need your help to see if I was the only one going crazy...

    can you load http://www.overclockers.com.au and http://ad.yieldmanager.com and report if both load?

    The first may load initially but the content in the middle of the screen may not show, because it's waiting on an ad from the second URL. This may not always be the case, depending if you get served an ad from the URL in question.

    If you load the second URL, it should have a simple index page (pretty much blank) with the text 'Not Found' to stop people viewing index listing. If you get nothing like it's "waiting for http://ad.yieldmanager.com...." then I can rest easy that I was not going crazy :argh:

    NB: I couldnt replicate this in Vista SP2 (32bit) and only found it in XP SP3 (32bit). It also only affected Firefox (v3), and not Internet Explorer (v7). From what I can see, v4.0.437.0 has fixed this issue so it is all good. I just want to check with others still running v4.0.424 that it wasn't only me...


    Thanks :D
     
  2. LoPhatPhuud

    LoPhatPhuud Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I can load the first URL and not content appears missing. The second URL returns the 'Not Found' message.

    ESS 4.0.424, FF 3.10, XP Pro, SP3.
     
  3. denno

    denno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Posts:
    49
    Thanks for checking that. can i ask, have you got a fairly stock-standard configuration? haven't enabled that option for 'test mode' to receive module updates that aren't quite ready?

    any chance you can do a copy paste of the about screen showing all the modules installed? (i just found this out myself, if you hit ctrl-A then control-C, it just copies it all to the clipboard).

    Many thanks LoPhatPhuud
     
  4. LoPhatPhuud

    LoPhatPhuud Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Re: XP SP3 (32bit) running ESS 4.0.424 and a FireFox 3.0.10 user? Need your help to c

    My base installation is mainly stock with a few IDS rules deselected and the firewall runs in Interactive mode. I do not use Test Mode so all modules are default.


    Here are the modules installed:
    Virus signature database: 4091 (20090520)
    Update module: 1028 (20090302)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1214 (20090511)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1092 (20090309)
    Archive support module: 1094 (20090428 )
    Cleaner module: 1040 (20090401)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1011 (20090415)
    Personal firewall module: 1045 (20090325)
    Antispam module: 1011 (20090114)
    SysInspector module: 1212 (20090414)
    Self-defense support module : 1005 (20081105)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2009
  5. denno

    denno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Posts:
    49
    Thanks mate!
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,734
    Location:
    Texas
    Re: XP SP3 (32bit) running ESS 4.0.424 and a FireFox 3.0.10 user? Need your help to c

    Issue resolved.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.