XP Firewall VS GhostWall VS GesWall Free

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by spider_darth, Apr 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spider_darth

spider_darth Registered Member

I'm looking for a firewall which is light. And yet, requires little user intervention. Cuz I'm planning to install this firewall on my parents' PC as they have no idea whether to allow or disallow traffic. So, I'm looking at a firewall which can run on its own and basically don't even require any user intervention. One of them is using Vista and the other, XP.

1. Is Windows Firewall sufficient? Or should I replace it with GhostWall or GesWall Free Edition? Is there any advantage using GhostWall or GesWall Free Edition over Windows Firewall?

2. Does GesWall Free Edition requires much user intervention?

3. Do I need to configure GhostWall or GesWall Free Edition before using it? If so, how should I go about doing so? I'm not technically-savvy, so my knowledge is rather limited.

4. Are there any outbound protection firewall which requires no or little user intervention?

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. KDNeese

KDNeese Registered Member

If you don't want them to have to determine whether an app can access the Internet or not, then just stick with the Windows firewall. Ghostwall is rule based and can be difficult to configure if you don't know what you're doing. GeSWall is more of a sandbox type application than an actual firewall, and can give a lot of prompts. Also, for whatever reason when I tried to install GesWall it screwed my system up terribly to the point where nothing worked - had to go into safe mode and do system restore. Other people have had no problems with it, but it can be very noisy, just like a HIPS. Like I said, if you want unintrusive, just stick with the Windows firewall. It is more than sufficient if you just want a set & forget app that stays quiet yet protects their systems.

3. spider_darth