XenForo + Google Chrome v61

Discussion in 'Forum Related Discussions' started by mood, Sep 10, 2017.

  1. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,109
    I noticed that nothing happens if i click on the arrow-button (which is pointing upwards) in a quote:
    Xenforo_arrow-button.png
    ... but only if the quoted post is located on the same page.
    If the quoted post is on a different page, it works o_O

    I tested it with a portable version of Chrome without extensions or modifications. So i can be sure that nothing interferes.

    Chrome v60
    a) quoted post is located on the same page
    = click on the arrow-button = it jumps to the post
    b) quoted post is located on a different page
    = click on the arrow-button = it loads the page and jumps to the post
    in both cases it is working correctly

    Chrome v61.0.3163.79 =
    a) quoted post is located on the same page
    = click on the arrow-button = nothing happens
    b) quoted post is located on a different page
    = click on the arrow-button = it loads the page and jumps to the post
    in case a) it is not working

    I have visited the official Xenforo-Forum and there it seems to work, it always jumps to the quoted post.
    I'm not sure if this is a problem of Chrome v61 or of XenForo, especially on Wilders :doubt:
     
  2. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,941
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yes, confirmed. At first, when I noticed yesterday or the day before, thought it was caused by a broken link somehow or a deleted comment. But no, it still failing on any page I tested a few min. ago.
     
  3. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,941
    Location:
    Mexico
    Going to check other xenforo based forums. I'll be back... lol

    Edit: Confirmed same behavior on MDL, Technibble and MT forums.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  4. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    930
    Works okay with Firefox (ESR), so it may be a chrome problem. Maybe the official xenforo forum sw is a different version then what other forums are using where it fails.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,109
    Thanks for confirming ;)
    Yes, this was my first thought too: "Maybe the post was deleted? Hmm.. :cautious:"
     
  6. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,941
    Location:
    Mexico
    Problem persists. Any news on this subject?
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017
  7. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,216
    Happens with Chrome Version 61.0.3163.100 (Official Build) (64-bit) on Linux as well.

    Also on Linux, Firefox 58 and Qupzilla (2.1.2) work properly in this respect.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017
  8. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,941
    Location:
    Mexico
    Did a google search: Google Chrome v61 site:https://xenforo.com/community/

    NO results.

    :oops:
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,837
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    This page's arrow links checked with Google Chrome Version 61.0.3163.100 (Official Build) (32-bit), and several other pages as well. No issues.

    Extensions: Canvas Defender 1.1.0 | HTTPS Everywhere 2017.9.12 | uBlock Origin 1.14.8
     
  10. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,109
    :cautious:
    After a click on the arrow in #5 you see it scrolling to Post #2 ?

    I have tried it again, but now with the 32-bit version of Chrome and i can see the same result as in #1 :cautious:
     
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,837
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Yes, no problem. And even your arrow link in post #10 takes me to the beginning of my post #9.
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,837
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    mood, on second reading, you stated "scrolling" and while my Firefox 55.0.3 (32-bit) does "scroll" to whatever post the arrow is pointed to, Google Chrome "reloads" the page to whatever post the arrow is pointed to. I wanted to note that difference between these 2 browsers.
     
  13. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,941
    Location:
    Mexico
    Same here. Don't worry or be sad you're not alone :p
     
  14. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,887
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    @mood and @Mister X I have the same issue as both of you and can not for the life of me figure it out... So neither one of you are alone...
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,577
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I can confirm problems using arrow even if quote is located on same page. URL changes but browser doesn't scroll to specific post.
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,109
    I have tested Chrome 62beta and Chrome v63dev with a fresh profile, no extensions and i can still see the same issue.
    It isn't reloading the page.

    Mysterious :confused:

    But my assumption is now, that the arrow-button itself is (somehow :cautious:) the culprit.

    My post in the test forum:
    The arrow-button and my link "." share the same url but the arrow-button doesn't want to work (Chrome)

    Ater looking into the XenForo Forum i can see that "... said" is also underlined (this is only the case in the XenForo Forum) (not only the arrow-button)

    Wilders_doesn't work.png
    Wilders: arrow-button = doesn't work

    MT_doesn't work.png
    MT: arrow-button = doesn't work

    xenforo_it_works.png
    XenForo: a click on: "... said" = Surprise: it works
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017
  17. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,837
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. I don't see the "mood said" text linked, only the arrow next to the words, while looking at Wilders:

    2017-09-25_112128.png

    I do see the XenForo forum having both the "said" and arrow (circle) linked; clicking both reloads the page to whatever post it's pointing to.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017
  18. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,109
    Yes, this is what i can see too and "... said" is only underlined (linked) in the Forum of XenForo.
    Btw.: I have tried the same portable version and it doesn't want to work.
    Additionally i have tried portable versions of: Chrome v62beta, Chrome v63dev and still the same result.
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,837
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,109
    Ok, thanks :thumb:
     
  21. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,096
    Location:
    New England
    I'm not sure what you think we can do about this. Chrome's prior version worked fine with redirecting the page to the quoted post. Then Chrome changed - something, and it no longer works. Above, people pointed out that multiple XenForo forums, like Us, Malware Tips, MDL, and Technibble, all show the same exact issue. None of us changed. Chrome changed. Now, the code doesn't work. So, that means what exactly?

    If you are wondering why the XenForo site itself doesn't show the same issue, it's because they are in the middle of a huge, multi-year rewrite to what they call XenForo 2.0. It is totally different code, so, it works differently. That code is Beta only though. We're not likely to migrate to that for, what, at least a year if not more.
     
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,713
    What does this extension do sir?

    Extensions: Canvas Defender 1.1.0
     
  23. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,837
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  24. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,096
    Location:
    New England
  25. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,109
    Yes, after clearing of the cache and clicking on the arrow (or: quote attribution link) it scrolls to the post now :thumb: