WSA v8.0.2.92 problems

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Tarnak, Dec 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I have had a combination of system freeze, blocked access, popups etc since the update to v8.0.2.92. This has happened at with the last 2 boots, beginning yesterday. Lucky, for me I had an alternative snapshot to boot into when the problem with the latest WSA version occurred.

    ScreenShot_WSA_v8.0.2.92_popups_01.jpg ScreenShot_WSA_v8.0.2.92_popups_02.jpg

    ScreenShot_WSA_v8.0.2.92_popups_03.jpg

    Blocked access:

    ScreenShot_WSA_v8.0.2.92_popups_04.jpg
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I just tried to update EAM...

    ScreenShot_EAM_problem with starting_01.jpg

    I didn't like that solution, so shutdown WSA instead, and this time, I had no trouble updating EAM and AdMuncher.

    ScreenShot_EAM_problem with starting_02.jpg

    ScreenShot_EAM_problem with starting_04.jpg

    So, why this update of WSA caused such a kerfuffle with my system, is a complete mystery.o_O

    Obviously, all the settings were not remembered by WSA. Why not?
     
  3. claudiu

    claudiu Guest

    Hi,

    I never understood how a paranoid approach in PC security looks like.

    Now ,I do!!!

    Be happy that you can boot your PC , given the insane amount of (conflicting) programs you are running.



    Claudiu
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2012
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    If you say so! :p :D
     
  5. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Hey Tarnak,

    Just a quick note to let you know you are not alone. I am getting the exact same "this file is trying to connect to the Internet" messages from all my previously authorized programs after upgrading to 2.92.

    I have told my customers not to upgrade to the latest version because many of them are not tech-savy.
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know what your firewall settings are?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: WSA v8.0.2.92 -.93 problems

    I bug must of entered .92 -.93 as my sister inlaw keeps getting asked to let outlook.exe and I told her to keep clicking on allow because the first time she Blocked it and called me that she can't send email and she said every so often it will pop-up again. And I look on my list and see much more on there as allot of them don't need access to the net? And we are both on default for firewall settings.

    TH
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you send me a scan log uploaded somewhere with a link via PM so that I can take a look?
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    To anyone experiencing this problem: could you post a screenshot of your summary configuration screen and let me know if you're using the web console to manage configuration or just local?

    Thanks!
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Local configurations. And my Sister Inlaw I left it at Default on install.

    19-12-2012 10-53-38 AM.png
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've found the issue and are working to fix it now - thank you :thumb:
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to Hear! :cool:

    TH
     
  14. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Most excellent. This is the first (and only) problem I have had with WSA since I started running it almost a year ago. :)
     
  15. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Attached user config settings at Default. Web Console settings set at Maximum Security. Is this the correct procedure??
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Web Console settings completely override all local settings. So anything you change locally will never stick as long as the Web Console is set to something other than User Controlled. :)
     
  17. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Which would be the most efficient/usable procedure, or should they be set the same?
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The overhead should be almost completely identical between modes, so you should be fine no matter what you set it at :)

    A general note: we will have this fixed build out today.
     
  19. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Update 8.0.2.93 just arrived!
     
  20. AdamL

    AdamL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    France/Fife
    I presume we are waiting on .94 to fix the bug though as .93 is just a reissue of .92 with the time stamp corrected as I understand it?
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Correct! .94 or .9x will fix the firewall issue.

    TH
     
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I see a lot happened while I was sleeping...:D

    ScreenShot_WSA_v8.0.2.96_update_01.jpg
     
  23. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I don't think it coincidental, but I was getting a popup from Zemana, but because of system freeze I couldn't get a screen capture. But , I have since found this in C:\Documents and Settings\My Name\Local Settings\Temp

    ScreenShot_WSA_misc_local settings_temp_01.jpg

    and the exception report:

    View attachment ErrorReport.txt
     
  24. claudiu

    claudiu Guest

    Maybe I miss something here;

    You are running WSA+ Vipre+ EmsiSoftAntimalware+ Zemana+Process Guard+ anothere hundred softwares and you are complaining about something and nobody from "massive posters" is telling you that is way to much and you have to uninstall something in order to avoid conflictso_O?

    All this only to have another "happy customer" who will enjoy "Update 8.0.2.93" which just arrived!

    This is unbelievable!!!!
     
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    WSA has worked in this setup and will continue to work there. Build 8.02.96 further corrects this so he can even add on more antimalware software if he likes :)

    Regarding the exception report in the temp folder - that's likely created by a Zemana crash and would be worth submitting to them so that they can investigate it on their end.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.