WSA v8.0.2.6 Beta Released

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Triple Helix, Sep 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It just updated here for Beta Users only for now! Please don't post snapshots until Joe says so!

    Thanks,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    Just found it waiting for me when I got home. ;)
     
  3. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Nice Update. :thumb: :D
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    I notice that the padlock is absent after the update. The Opera browser was open, so perhaps if I close and reload, the padlock will reappear.
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    After restarting the browser, the padlock is back. :)
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I know WSA doesn't ask for a reboot when a new version comes out but most times it's best to!

    TH
     
  8. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hi all! :)

    My closed beta updated here last night to version 8.0.2.6 but the webshield was disabled when i woke up my puter . This morning i have rebooted several times with webshied enabled and NO padlock appears on the icon in the systray when i browse with Opera or FF!
    I have just tried to download the closed beta from the link in the Webroot email and reinstalled it... to no avail! With the previous version i was never faced with this problem...
    Please Help!:D

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Oh, but there is no beta currently.:mad:
     
  10. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    At last! I am not alone! Just kidding :D
    I have a long lasting issue with the missing padlock which after very lengthy and thorough investigation by Webroot techies ended up in a conclusion that the problem stems from my OS language which is not supported yet by WSA. So maybe this 2013 launch (how Jim from the support calls it) is somehow changed under the hood what may result in missing padlock for you. Do you use French OS with French WSA?
     
  11. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    I am amazed by the scan countdown on the main GUI :eek:
     
  12. rinem

    rinem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    156
    I liked the old simple gui more. The new one gives the gui an unnecessary "geekness" imo.
     
  13. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello pegas! :)

    My Vista Ultimate was in French when i purchased it. But thanks to this operating system version, i immediately changed the language for English-US;)
    Therefore so far i had no issue with the padlock. Likewise, WSA is in English.
    Thanks for your post.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks pegas and Herve for the reports as usual Joe will make his comments when he comes by!

    TH
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Use your Beta download link and install over top!

    TH
     
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    OK, you may have to get used to the missing padlock LOL, it might be just a coincidence. If you had not issues with the padlock formerly it should jump out again in due time :D
     
  17. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    During auto update last night WSA icon disappeared from Taskbar Notification area. I checked Task Manager and found nothing for WSA. Waited about 10 - 15 minutes, still nothing. I then double clicked WSA icon on desktop, it looks like it started WSA again. WSA icon appeared and WSA is in Task Manager. WSA working normal now. Win. XP, IE-8, SP-3.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Like I said in post #7:
    The reason is to set the new updated files and drivers!

    TH ;)
     
  19. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Have no idea what time mine auto-updated, but it was there upon 1st boot today! Me likee the new GUI!
     
  20. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    Interesting changes to the UI, and some other additions around the software. I've made some comments directly to the Support Team.
     
  21. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to hear! ;) I like the new GUI also :thumb:

    TH
     
  23. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    I can confirm - fixed for me as well. Good job!

    I have one question though - WSA keeps detecting the malware in Comodo's quarantine folder and I can't find a way to exclude the folder in WSA. Is there any such way at all?
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I don't think so as it would leave a hole for malware to hide in! And I guess Comodo doesn't encrypt the files in there quarantine folder like WSA! :doubt: How about emptying the Comodo's quarantine folder? If you want to keep the files save them and zip them with a password that's all I can suggest!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  25. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    Thanks for the suggestion. It's a pity WSA doesn't have a normal way of excluding folders and files. It is really strange having in mind that it is designed to be compatible with other AVs and many even here on Wilders use it together with other AV solutions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.