WSA now compatible with Sandboxie

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by PrevxHelp, Dec 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    At long last, WSA's Identity Shield is compatible with Sandboxie. Build 8.0.2.79 is the first build with this functionality in place, and we'll have a new release shortly which will further improve support on Windows 8 as well.
     
  2. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    I feel like Joe Biden whispering to Barack Obama, "THIS IS HUGE!!!" :eek: :D

    (No political meaning behind that just making a joke.)

    Anyway, THIS IS HUGE!!! OMG! I did a double-take when I saw the lock icon in a sandboxed browser! I was SOOO the first to notice, LOL! (Just teasing...)

    Rest assured, you now no longer need to make a choice between whether you want sensitive credentials secured with Webroot, or if you want your browsing activities contained and isolated. YOU NOW GET BOTH.

    That's right, true, two-way browsing protection. What goes in is secured from tampering and eavesdropping, and what comes back is contained and prevented from making permanent changes to anything on your computer.

    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to hear and Thanks Joe, Sandboxie users will be very happy as a Layered approach to there security! ;)

    TH
     
  4. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    This is great news. I am on Win 8. Are there any specific issues which you want to improve?
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I think I found a bug. I don't get the lock when sandboxing firefox. If I open WSA main interface and then shut it I get the green lock. Anyone have any idea's or similar problem?
    Edit: Ok the green lock also comes back when I hit anything outside firefox screen like the taskbar and click on firefox window again.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Then that is normal! ;) Hover over the Tray Icon to see what it says!

    TH
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    It says protected but doesn't have the "this page protected by identity shield" that it normally would have. Very odd.
    Edit: Chrome seems to be working fine.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    When the lock is on the Tray Icon and you hover over, it should say "The foreground window is protected by Identity Shield"

    TH
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yes it does. When I first start firefox I have the lock and then it disappears. When the lock disappears it doesn't say "The foreground window is protected by Identity Shield". If I hit anything out of the field and then hit the field again the lock comes back.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    OK Thanks.

    TH
     
  12. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Great news!

    Are you circumventing SBIE in some way or has your program been amended to approach identity protection in a different way?. If it is the former is there potential for future SBIE iterations to plug the method?

    Thanks
     
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Is there some kind of error log that you need from me?
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    What OS are you using and if it's 32bit or 64bit? Your issue doesn't really sound bad and I would wait till the next version comes out by Monday according to Joe but if your concerned you can open a support ticket? https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp? Another option could be is try a clean reinstall, Uninstall reboot and download a fresh copy http://anywhere.webrootcloudav.com/zerol/wsainstall.exe and make sure you have a copy of your keycode as you will need during install.

    TH
     
  15. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Win 7 32bit Home premium. I already tried a clean install of 8.0.2.85. Still having the issue. I'm not super worried, just noticed it. Since the identity shield wasn't working with sandboxie for a while now, I'm not concerned.
     
  16. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Good news about WSA and Sandboxie.

    I see a lock up in the address bar at a few sites, but not very many. Can someone tell me if that's normal, and what the lock means? Or tell me what to type in to do a search for more information? Thanks.
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The lock in the address bar is from your browser designating an HTTPS website. The lock on the tray icon by your system clock is from WSA when protecting a website.
     
  18. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    I see it now, thanks. My toolbar is hidden most of the time, hadn't noticed the new lock icon. Is there somewhere on Webroot that'll explain what Identity Shield is doing?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  19. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
  20. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.