WSA & Malwarebytes

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Alexhousek, Jan 29, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    I see that a lot of people seem to pair WSA with other AV's; while others use it as stand-alone. I am wondering if most (or a lot) people also pair WSA with Malwarebytes?

    I have not personally seen the need to add anything to WSA. However, seeing that others do, makes me wonder....

    The other reason for asking specifically about Malwarebytes, is that there is what appears to be a great sale for it right now at PricePlunge.
    http://www.priceplunge.com/?ai=4609
    (I have never bought anything from this website and know nothing about it.)

    Thoughts about the need to add Malwarebytes to WSA?
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes some do is it necessary I would say no I like WSA & VoodooShield myself and do I really need VS not really but to me it's better than 2 AV's or WSA & MBAM it's a very light combo VS being a Whitelisting program but WSA on it's own is great also with it's monitoring of unknown files even an unknown CryptoLocker and when the Cloud deems it to be malicious can rollback to the pre-infection state and yes even CryptoLocker.

    Have a look at this Webinar from Webroot and CryptoLocker on Jan 21, 2014: CryptoLocker: Your Money or Your Life

    TH ;)
     
  3. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    I run WSA with MBAM PRO (with realtime) only.

    I have looked at other tools such as Voodooshield (did not like it disables UAC), Appguard and NoVirusThanks but decided they were overkill for me. Currently testing Hitman Pro-Alert and Malwarebytes anti-exploit which seem to work fine alongside WSA (but again might be overkill).

    I did run WSA with a traditional AV (Avira) but see that now as unnecessary.
     
  4. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    769
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    I run MBAM Pro with WSAC. Like Triple Helix stated there is no need too but if you want layered protection they work great together. I ran only WSAC a few months but since I have 3 Lifetime licenses of MBAM I bought about 3+ years ago, what the heck why waste a Lifetime license when they work great together. ;)
     
  5. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Also run MBAM Pro w/WSA. You don't even know it's there unless something pops up that shouldn't. :) NEVER had a problem with conflicting w/WSA in about 2 years...
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I've ran Avast, WSA, and MBAM Pro until the ChicaPC giveaway license was killed. No issues after extensive usage and testing.
     
  7. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    I run WSA with AppGuard. Overkill or not, it's effective and light.
     
  8. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    As you know TH...I am with you on that one.:thumb: ;)
     
  9. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    I've been running WSA with MBAM Pro on several systems for over two years now, and more than a dozen of my customers are doing the same thing; none of us have had a single issue with this software combo. :)

    For those that know what they are doing, adding PrivateFirewall to this combo works like a charm as well. :thumb:
     
  10. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I was running MBAM Pro in real-time with WSA AV but have decided that it's overkill in concert with Online Armor and Sandboxie and thus have decided to run it on-demand only.

    Resource usage is a bit more economical and I don't feel, as the saying goes, that I am only bringing a knife to a gunfight.
     
  11. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    And now running MBAM Pro in real time and Sandboxie as well.
     
  12. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    222
    why don't webroot buy out malware bytes and combine them both!!!!!
     
  13. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    They don't need to.
     
  14. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    I've really been pondering adding MWB (Pro) to my WSA for a couple weeks. In fact, I've been watching sales and almost pulled the trigger. However, I also use AX64. And, in reading and watching the AX64 thread, I've noticed that several people have had issues with MWB Pro and hot restores with AX64.
    In fact, the recommendation is to shut down MWB before doing a hot restore.

    So, since I'm not convinced that I even need MWB, and because it might interfere with my AX64 hot restores, I'm just going to continue to use it for an on-demand scanner. I feel very secure with WSA and Sandboxie.
     
  15. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    I've seen too many situations where MBAM does some very evil things to computers on cleanup, and it's definitely not a foolproof. One of the standard malware removal skills tests has three infected computers to clean up and MBAM leaves about 10% of the infections behind on two of them and a quarter on the third while also making the third unbootable. Very informative on how to avoid trusting automated tools for cleanup of a pre-infected system and actually use human brainz. ^.^
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.