WSA-FB version

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by CloneRanger, Oct 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Thanks to a kind member who provided a link :thumb: i've installed it. One of the fastest installs of any security App ever !

    I chose to block svchost to see what would happen

    wsa-svch.png

    As you can see i'm still able to connect out, even though i thought doing so required the use of it. Why is this ?

    XP/SP2
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    System connections are still allowed through - blocking svchost will break OS functionality.
     
  3. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Plus the fact several instances of svchost can be running at any one time. I have 11 now, which include system, local service and network service.
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ PrevxHelp

    How if WSA says it blocks it ? Or maybe it doesn't really, in which case why not ?

    I realise that, but i expected WSA to ONLY block it outbound, as selected. Does it not do ONLY that ?

    @ TonyW

    Hi yeah, please see above ;)
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You're using the Block/Allow files dialog, not the network connections dialog. You're trying to block svchost.exe from running at all. (Also, you're navigating to C:\windows2\ instead of C:\windows\ - not sure if that is intended on your system but something which caught my eye)
     
  6. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ PrevxHelp

    Thanks, yes you're quite right, i was on the other TAB :oops:

    svchost now selected as Blocked on the network TAB, but i'm still able to surf ?

    svc.png

    Please understand that i'm just experimenting to see what works & doesn't ;)

    Windows2 is a reinstall, & the original has been mostly deleted. Well spotted :D
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Surfing will still work, you'll just have random aspects of the OS not work (like Windows Defender, certain parts of Windows update, and possibly some local networking services).
     
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ PrevxHelp

    It sure does, but for years we've been led to believe we need svchost.exe to do so ! I don't mean by you, but generally by Lots of others ?

    .

    Well that's OK as i don't use them :D

    Thanks for enlightening us :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.