WSA AV does not load fully

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by DavidCo, Sep 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Using 8.0.1.233 for 3 months approx without any major problems.

    I have had 2 occurrences where WSA does not load to sys tray on boot.
    The 2 processes show as running ok but I cannot find a log anywhere.

    A restart fixes it ok.

    I have had a warning window 'flash' up when browsing a couple of times but it vanishes before I have time to read it.

    No big deal really - but?

    Anyone else had this.

    David
     
  2. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Yes, DavidCo, I see this all the time BUT it isn't always the WSA icon that doesn't show up in the system tray. Often it is another started task like Intel RST or the ATI icon that doesn't show.

    I believe the problem is a Windows 7 bug but don't have any way to duplicate the problem.

    Just my $.02 worth.... :rolleyes:
     
  3. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Something to help maybe.
    When the icon does not load to sys tray the check marks on search results does not work.

    Vista HP 32bit
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Also you can try to delete the IconCache.db file as it could cause issues at times? It's in a hidden folder so Click on My Computer>Go to the top and click on Tools>Folder Options>View>Click Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives and click OK, then click on C drive>Users>Your Name>AppData>Local>and you will see the IconCache.db file and delete it and reboot and check your Icons on the desktop and system tray to see if that works? Then go back and Check Don't Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives and click OK and report back!

    TIA,

    TH
     
  5. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I have already done the IconCache stuff (regular maintenance)
    Delete > shut down > start is best:D

    How about the warning window, is that WSA changing its mind.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Is it happening when visiting a bad website? If it is read this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=331132

    TH
     
  7. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I have had the warning window on the Guardian website (not bad really - honest):oops:

    It may be related to your thread although I never have my browser maxed.

    Anyway the little window just closes.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Maybe it's best to contact the WSA support inbox to see if they can nail it down? https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp?

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.