WSA and KIS2013 don't mix well together?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by denniz, Aug 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Today I installed Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 final from http://usa.kaspersky.com/ , during installation it prompted me that WSA (v8.0.1.229) was incompatible with KIS2013. It gave me the choice of keeping WSA installed or removing it, I choose to keep it. After I started browsing in Firefox, the moment I typed something in the search field of Google I got a BSOD from Windows.

    After that I uninstalled WSA to see if the problem would disappear, and indeed it did. After that I installed WSA again, and I got a bluescreen again after typing something in Google.

    Steps to reproduce the problem on my computer after WSA was installed:

    - Install Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 (kis2013_13.0.1.4190EN_3458.exe).
    - Use the updater to get the latest malware definitions for KIS2013.
    - Restart computer.
    - Open browser (either IE9 or Firefox 14) with Google as starting page.
    - Install the Kaspersky browser extensions when prompted.
    - Begin typing in the search field of Google.
    - This results in a blue screen of death.

    The memory dump files made references to the following, which also seem to include Kaspersky and Windows keyboard drivers causing problems on the kernel level:

    klkbdflt.sys (klkbdflt+0x1514)
    0xD1 (0x0, 0x2, 0x1, 0xFFFFF88005B28954)
    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    kbdclass.sys (kbdclass.sys+4954)
    0xD1 (0x0, 0x2, 0x1, 0xFFFFF88005B28954)
    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x7F1C0)
    0xD1 (0x0, 0x2, 0x1, 0xFFFFF88005B28954)
    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    Browsers tested to confirm the problem:
    - Internet Explorer 9 32-bit
    - Firefox 14.0.1

    I running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit with Service Pack 1 with a Logitech G15 Orange Gaming keyboard.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    There is one regular poster to these WSA threads that IS running KIS2013 and WSA (Essentials I think) concurrently according to his posting signature. Perhaps he/she can shed some light on release levels and any setting(s) changes made to get these two products to coexist peacefully....
     
  3. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    The solution might be to install KIS first then WSA. After that, add both products to each others exclusions lists.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The person you are thinking about is Baldrick and in his siggy it still says KIS 2012.

    TH
     
  5. Grashocki

    Grashocki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    From the information posted in the original post, it looks like KIS2013 may have an additional function, or a re-write of keyboard handling that may be interacting with WSA's ID Shield in the browser. I'd like to get a hold of the log files regarding this. Would you be able to PM me your email address and submit a support ticket so we might be able to dig into this a bit further?

    You can submit a support ticket here.

    Thanks!
     
  6. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wouldn't uninstalling WSA first, then installing KIS2013 and then reinstalling WSA achieve the same effect? If so, then I already tried that.
     
  7. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sure I'm willing to do that. Will be sending you a PM now.
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! I also installed K.I.S. alongside WSA Essentials...and during the install of K.I.S. there was no incompatible warning in the K.I.S. install wizard. But knowing the K.I.S. 2012 procedure...it's advised to remove other A/V Apps. So I removed WSA...and re-installed K.I.S...and then re-installed WSA, sure enough I experienced two B.S.O.D. Mini dump occcurences while using both Opera and Google. I un-installed K.I.S. and Voila...Magic-Presto...the problem vanished. So I am staying with WSA Essentials and added Hitman Pro to provide added malware protection. Everything is now running smoothly. K.I.S. while being a superb app...like other Suites tends to complicate things with competing apps. I like to keep things uncluttered and simplified. Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Securon,

    I asked you this question in another thread but haven't seen a reply yet so here it comes again: Are you successfully running BullGuard ISS concurrently with WSA on any systems, and if so, did you have to make any setting(s) changes to either program to get them to coexist peacefully??
     
  10. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Kdcdq...I'm no longer using Bullguard because I'd couldn't find a way to implement it's Antispam feature and found it lacks a scheduler for scanning...or one that could be easily accessed. Wasn't as stated,terribly impressed with it's ease of layout. And it's full scan was way too slow. Anyhow I have it in my Arsenal for future useage. Sorry about not getting back to you promptly. Sincerely...Securon
     
  11. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Definitely would not run them concurrently.Even with mutual exclusions set up,the tiniest little thing will set off KIS.I run KIS 2013 on one of my machines by itself.Have tried it in the past along with WSA on a machine,but it slowed page loads a fair bit,and if they both wind up scanning at the same time it will cripple the pc.WSA is more than enough to keep you safe,and there are other progs that work really well with WSA like privatefirewall,etc.The last thing on the programmers minds at Kaspersky is compatability with competing products.There is quite a bit new under the hood of KIS2013 and because of that i can pretty much guarantee you that things will not end well if you run something alongside it.If you value the layered approach,use WSA and ditch KIS.Hope you havent already paid for KIS
     
  12. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I still have a half year left on my KIS subscription. KIS2012 did work with WSA, so I hope Webroot can also restore compatibility with KIS2013. Since Kaspersky makes it perfectly clear that they don't hold compatibility with other third party products in high regard, I have no hopes that the fix is going to come from Kaspersky. However since WSA advertizes itself on maintaining compatibility with other security products, I do have good hopes that Webroot will find a solution.
     
  13. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    @denniz
    Kaspersky has added a new feature called "secure keyboard input". I believe this functionality maybe the same as Webroot's "id shield". Try disabling secure keyboard input in the settings menu.
     
  14. Grashocki

    Grashocki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    You may have a point with the above. I performed some testing this morning with KIS2013 and the Public build of WSA. I was unable to recreate the circumstances that led to the BSOD's reported here. However, given the nature of the BSOD's that were reported, it's possible that this is what's happening. I would suggest either turning off the ID Shield in WSA, or the equivalent functions with KIS, and see if the issue replicates. (When I initially installed I disabled the BHO's installed with KIS, and re-enabled them after a reboot.)

    Just a quick note: When I installed KIS2013 on the system with WSA Installed, I did get prompted to uninstall WSA, I did so, and continued with the installation of KIS. I then installed WSA successfully.

    For those persons reporting this issue, are you running additional browser add-on's that address keyboard filtering, or in other ways pass keystrokes to the browser?
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We should be able to work around this in one of the next builds. Thanks! :)
     
  16. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Disabling "secure keyboard input" in the settings menu doesn't solve it.

    I just found out that typing in MS Word 2010 also cause a blue screen. So the problems also exits outside a web browser. However typing in Notepad works fine.
     
  17. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm currently chatting with Lucas (Webroot Escalation Engineer) to resolve the problem. Do you know something more as the cause of the problem?
     
  18. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Sooooooo...
    Kaspersky works very hard to make themselves INCOMPATIBLE with WSA and then say "Get rid of them!!!"
    Webroot works very hard to fix all the stuff Kaspersky breaks.

    I'll stick with the "kid" who shares the toy bin and behaves better, Kthx.
     
  19. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Any updates regarding my problem?
     
  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This should be addressed in the next update :)
     
  21. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Why do you need to be running two apps at the same time.?
    I would ditch this WSA for kaspersky anyday.
    Your supposed to just run one security app at a time.ive noticed people on here trying to run this and that with kaspersky and then complaining because it doesnt work right.
    It should be obvious you just run kaspersky on its own.you dont need anything else except an on demand scanner like MBAM etc.
    Its not kaspersky that is complicating things its the wreckless people behind the keyboard.:ninja: :ninja:
     
  22. PC_Fiddler

    PC_Fiddler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Yorkshire - UK
    In alternate lifetime I beta tested Kaspersky (2013) from RC1 through to the final & proactively ditched KIS for (this) WSA without any hesitation -
     
  23. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Yep. Was gonna say...
    WSA runs just fine with anything but Kaspersky. I definitely have MUCH more trust in the company that says "You're perfectly allowed to run other stuff with us if you like." than the company that says "OMG, ANOTHER AV! GET RID OF IT! US ONLY OR ELSE!!" Seriously, if everybody else can play nice, why can't the K?

    I don't trust companies or programs that demand unshared sovereignty over my system. So I'll stick with WSA and maybe, MAYBE in the future if I feel I need something else too, I'll use something that doesn't try to kick everything else at all out.

    By the way...
    If something gets past Kaspy and MBAM both, will K fix it for you for free, over the phone or even remote service with intelligent, primary technicians who don't think "Reinstall Windows" is a good first solution?
     
  24. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Because Webroot clearly states that it works with other security products. And since I still have a running subscription on both Kaspersky and WSA, I would like to get the most out of the money I already spent. Also Kaspersky 2012 didn't gave me such problems, so I didn't expect that with Kaspersky 2013.

    Yeah partially agree with this, but when a developer advertizes itself as compatible with other security products... can you blame people for trying when it's one of the selling points? If a developer claims that they can program around the normal limitations/problems that people get when running multiple real-time products, they I say power to them! Especially since one product doesn't catch all malware (including Kaspersky).

    :shifty: I wouldn't consider myself wreckless... ;)
     
  25. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Anyway... I would like to report that WSA v8.0.2.6 Beta solved the blue screen problems. :thumb:

    I would also like to complement Webroot for there excellent support, both Lucas and Joe deserve kudos! :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.