Wrong Version of NOD32?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by xMarkx, Dec 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi Everybody,

    Today I removed McAfee from my computer which I have had for the past year and downloaded and installed NOD32 Antivirus v3! :D

    The latest version according to the site is 3.0.672.0.

    I went to the ESET website. Clicked on Free 30-trial, put in the necessary information (e-mail, etc) but the version said 3.0.669.0. Version 3.0.672.0 has been out since August, so why did I have to download the older version, 3.0.669.0?

    I'm using the trial version because I want to try NOD32 for a week or so to make sure everything is working normally.

    Basically; why am I using an outdated version of NOD32 [3.0.669.0] instead of the newest [3.0.672.0] even though I just downloaded NOD32 from the ESET site 30 minutes ago?
    Thanks!
     
  2. H47

    H47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    66
    Have you done an update yet? Doing so might update the program.
     
  3. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    It seems there isn't version 3.0.672 for trial, i've been looking for it and couldn't find it. The strange thing is that u can find that version for Eset Smart Security.
     
  4. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Yes, when I had to download the latest Virus Signature Database.

    However, this didn't update NOD32 to the latest version.
     
  5. H47

    H47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    66
    Damn. :( Well. It was worth a shot anyway.
     
  6. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Yeah.

    Maybe a ESET Moderator will know.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,789
    Location:
    Texas
  8. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    No, that was not the site I used.

    It wasn't eset.eu

    It was eset.com
     
  9. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    No one has replied to this thread for a few days...

    So does anyone know why it's not 3.0.672.0?

    If it's simply because the trial version is only available in 3.0.669.0, does that mean that I will have to reinstall NOD32 when I purchase it to get the latest version of 3.0.672.0??

    Regards,
    Mark
     
  10. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,741
    Location:
    New York City
  11. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    Wouldn't I then be unprotected from threats while NOD32 is gone and it's redownloading & installing?
     
  12. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    If u are too concerned about getting infected, then download the installer first, disconnect from internet, uninstall and reinstall ur new version, then connect again, update Nod32 and u are done.
     
  13. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    Would this remove my settings for NOD32? My friend configured the settings for me and he won't be available to reconfigure with every NOD32 update.

    Is it possibile to just download the new version, 3.0.684.0, on top of the version I am using, 3.0.669.0, or would this result in conflicts?

    Is there that big of a difference for a Windows Vista SP1 32-bit user between 3.0.669.0 and 3.0.684.0? I checked the changelog and it just said 'security and stability fixes without specifying what improvements exactly.

    Thanks,

    Mark.

    PS: I'm still using the trial version with 11 days left. I won't be buying for another few days (2-3 days or so).
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Yes your settings will be lost and yes there is a difference in the versions. If you don't want to loose your settings do what was suggested but instead of removing ESET, install it over the top of the old one.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.