Wrong application for IPv6 connects

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by jballment, Feb 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Hi

    All the IPv6 connects that I've made are coming up under the application ekrn.exe in the Protection Status -> Network Connections panel.

    For example when I connect to ipv6.google.com, www.v6.facebook.com or test-ipv6.com all the IPv6 connections are associated to the ekrn.exe (ESET Smart Security - ESET Service) rather than Google Chrome (the browser that I'm using).

    All IPv4 connections are correctly displayed as being associated with Chrome (or their appropriate application).

    This isn't a big deal but it would be good to see which application is using a connection, especially seeing all traffic is being routed via ekrn.exe and other application monitors (like Iarsn TaskInfo) can only see to connection going to ekrn rather than their external site which makes debugging more difficult.
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Just to check, which version of ESET Smart Security are you using?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    I don't have the version number on me but I only downloaded and installed it about a month ago.
     
  4. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
  5. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    The version of ESET Smart Security is 4.2.71.2 with signature 5908 (20110225).
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Would you mind providing a screen shot? That may make it a little easier to research and reproduce this issue.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  7. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Here is a screen shot of ESS when I'm access ipv6.google.com via chrome.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Sorry, I just assumed you wanted the overall version number. Here are the module version numbers:

    Virus signature database: 5908 (20110225)
    Update module: 1033 (20110222)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1295 (20110209)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1116 (20110210)
    Archive support module: 1125 (20110202)
    Cleaner module: 1050 (20101207)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1024 (20101227)
    Personal firewall module: 1062 (20101027)
    Antispam module: 1016 (2010120:cool:
    SysInspector module: 1217 (20100907)
    Self-defense support module : 1018 (20100812)
    Real-time file system protection module: 1004 (20100727)
     
  9. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Tried enabling the pre-release updates however it made no difference to the results.
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    From the screen shot, it appears you are running Microsoft Windows XP, is that correct?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  11. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Yes, I'm running Windows XP SP3 with all current patches and fixes installed.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    That's allright. On systems older than Windows Vista SP1, all HTTP / POP3 traffic is routed via ekrn.
     
  13. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    I can see via TaskInfo that all ip traffic is routed to the ekrn service however within ESS as per screen shot you can see connections that each app has except for ipv6 traffic which is assigned to the ekrn process.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.