WOW Kav engine and FW for only $5.00

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Just wondering, Feb 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Defender Pro Plus...This one has often been talked about and is overall a good AV for the price..there are a few threads for it..I'll leave the others to redirect you to it.
     
  2. Sorry about that.....they musta sold out.....I can't reach link anymore
     
  3. Hmmmm link seems to be working again.

    I just had ordered it before posting the link

    With shipping and tax total bill $10.65.

    It should be an excellent for my G/F's machine when her mc afee free lic. is

    over in a couple months.
     
  4. blabhead

    blabhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Massachusetts,U.S.A.
  5. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    I placed my order yesterday. More out of curiosity than anything. How can they sell this so cheap? Costs less than a large pizza. I'm tracking this package through ups. It's supposed to be here tommorow. Febuary 25. Talk about fast service.
     
  6. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    This is the "lite" version of KAV (discontinued version).


    tECHNODROME
     
  7. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    Thanks for the info Technodrome. Since it's a discontinued version, does that mean "no virus definition updates?"
     
  8. RAV RAV is offline
    Junior Member

    Join Date: Jan 2005
    Posts: 3
    Default Defender Pro AKA Kaspersky AV/Firewall
    My zonealarm security suite with AV was due for renewal but thought I would go for a change. I purchased Defender Pro @ Walmart for only $19.99 and it is licensed for up to 3 computers. Includes Firewall, AV, as well as a few useless utilities.

    The firewall and AV are obviously Kaspersky AV Personal 5 and Antihacker 1.5 and come with a 1 year license key for each. Seem to run smooth on my WinXP SP2 machine although SP2 security center didn't recognize the firewall so I shut off monitoring in the security center. The security center did recognize the AV and that it was up-to-date. AV updates are advertised every 3 hours but you can also adjust the program to every 1 hr.

    The firewall seems pretty good and light on resources without much fuss. Not bad for the price. Anyone else use this product- Defender Pro 5-in-1 ?
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    No.

    For the length of your license, you should be able to obtain engine and virus definition upgrades but probably not version/program upgrades.

    It would not be worth purchasing if you could not update the malware database ;)
     
  10. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    Hi Blackcat. Thanks for the info. I was afraid I had purchased an expensive coaster :rolleyes: It's gonna be a while before I install it. I just installed system mechanic yesterday which came bundled with kav. It's good to know that kav lite will work when I do install it.
     
  11. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    But thats not KAV Lite...Defender Pro comes with KAV 5.0 Personal 5.0.149.
     
  12. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Defender pro 5 in 1 comes with KAV 5.0. This version comes with KAV lite. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Oh...Misunderstood then. Can someone tell me how to enable the ext/X-bases on KAV Lite 4.5?

    Also does Defender Pro come with the latest version of KAV 4.5 Lite?
     
  14. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    That looks like cyberscrub, and av force antivirus. :D Cool interface :D I've read on different forums that this version of kav uses a lot of system resources, and hits the memory pretty hard. That may disqualify me from running it. Can anyone tell me if it uses more memory and system resources than Kav 5.0?

    Is that the interface you see when you boot up the computer? Just my opinion, but I don't want to see that everytime I bootup the computer. :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2005
  15. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    Hi Firecat. The latest versions of defender pro are 5-n-1 and 10-n-1. Both come with kav 5.0 See this thread..Bigc has some screenshots.https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=66172&page=1&pp=25 what is confusing, is the officemax version is called "defender pro plus" the 4.5 version.

    Defender Pro 5-N-1 = kav 5.0
    Defender Pro 10-N-1 = Kav 5.0 These are availible at walmarts.

    Defender pro Plus = kav 4.5
     
  16. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Thanks for that.

    Have a great day :)
     
  17. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    You have a great day also Firecat. There are so many defender pro versions it's kinda confusing. Does anyone know how resourse heavy kav 4.5 is? Does it use more memory and resources than Kav 5.0 ?
     
  18. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Although I have no idea HOW much resources kav 4.5 consumes, I know that its RAM usage is quite a bunch as compared to KAV 5.0, you will see that 4.5 causes noticeably more slowdown than 5.0 on most PCs.
     
  19. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    Thanks for the info Firecat. I may run into problems with my old pc. Although, Norton 2005 is the only antivius that I can't run so far. I've ran:

    Mcafee 8.0 - computer ran good
    Panda Titanium- firewall driver problem, antivirus ran good.
    Kav 5.0 - computer runs good
    F-Prot- computer runs good
    Trend micro (pc-cillian} Computer runs good
    Bitdefender Standard- Computer had a tendency to want to hang at shutdown. Other than this one issue. It ran fine.
    Nod32- computer runs good
    Avast- computer runs good

    Norton Antivirus 2005 - A total disaster. This antivirus is so bloated. It took it seemed forever to bootup. Click on mozilla to get on the internet. Computer won't do anything. It just stood there. :rolleyes:

    I'm running windows me, 700 mhz celeron processor, and only 192 mb of ram. However, I run tuneup utilities memo optimizer to lower the ram when it maxes out.
     
  20. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I have a copy of Defender Pro, 4.5 version and it is very system heavy, also you might need to call techsupport to obtain a new key since this version is quite old and the key I received was expired. As for the extended databases I never really left it on my pc long enough to play with it that much, but as for the regular interface there is no option to do so. HTH
     
  21. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Darn I love KAV 4.5 Lite interface...If only I had the extended and supersecure bases...
     
  22. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Yes .
    The main problem is that the key is expired in these versions bought at retail stores . And , KAV will not answer your request . There WAS a " Defender " company that you email but , that tell you to email someplace else . This other place sells all kinds of software and have no idea if they will help or not . Buy at your own risk . And good luck . You may need it !
     
  23. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
  24. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    Thanks for the info likuidkewl. So that's why it's so cheap, expired key that doesn't work. :rolleyes:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.