wow had not used avira for a while

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, Sep 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i thought it was getting heavier last time i used it back in 2011 all i can say is i just installed it to a fresh machine and dare i say even though its using a bit more ram than most its one of the lightest i have seen in a long time as well as my download speeds are WAY better than with ess. i still am not crazy about a lot of things overall about it but i found myself impressed by how responsive everything is now. this system formally had ess v6 and i also tested avg 2013. im not sure on the protection yet i have not had a chance to throw stuff at it yet i know avira has some of the best sig detections out there but most say it lacks in zero day so we will see. im also testing panda 2013 which ill report on soon in the panda thread. i remember people reporting on how heavy this version was getting and i agreed in 2011 but man this is actually very light on the system, and this is a older laptop with a 1.83 core 2 duo.
     
  2. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Be good if you could try both the premium and free versions & let us know what you think.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i can do that. right now im running the 2012 internet security version will test the free one tomm. i cant imagine the free one being any heavier as it doesnt include everything this does or am i wrong??
     
  4. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,424
    Free version is VERY light. one of the lightest AV's out there, protection/detection is OKAY but not up there with the big boys BD, KAV etc
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    honestly not a fan of either bd or kav....yes they have great detection but i dont like the programs themselves. i own lic's to both but just dont like either really. and as i said im running the internet security version and its superlight. a bit heavy on ram but does not feel like it. if / when it slows things down im not sure i have not seen it yet browsing is just as fast as with ess.
     
  6. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes it is.But for some unknown reasons,for me Avira free installed with Comodo FW,after some time of superb cohabitation (two or maybe three weeks more or less),the system become slow and sluggish.And i noticed this behavior 3 or 4 times already on my 2 laptops.
     
  7. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    I've not used Avira for a couple of years myself,have they got the BB functioning properly now?
     
  8. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Not really. They had planned Proactiv 2.0, with x64-support, for a summer 2012, but now they have cancelled the development of Proactiv 2.0 completely.
     
  9. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Does the free version still display lots of ads?
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Thats a weird decision...
     
  11. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Avira Antivir was one of m favorite Free AVs back in the days until they started over doing it with the ads :(
     
  12. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    That's strange and a bit concerning.
    Unless they plan to implement an alternative method to bolster the product,they could find themselves falling away from the top products :doubt:
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    wow any reason why?? i just bought a few lic's with hopes of a improved 2013 version do you think they will maybe abandon it sooner than later??
     
  14. Robot_Z

    Robot_Z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Canada
    I might pair Avira with something else in the future. I did test Avira out roughly a month ago, and it seemed to be very light. After reading about them stopping development on a key component: very alarming.
     
  15. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    I have no details; it was posted on their forum.
     
  16. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
    Avira still has one of the best AV signatures around (if not the very best).
    The free version is light, effective and non-intrusive.
    There have been some issues and disappointments https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=323682&highlight=avira
    But, in my oppinion, it's a perfect companion for a HIPS or a Sandbox.

    In fact, considering the frequent CPU spikes I've been experiencing with CAV, I may be changing my Sig soon.
     
  17. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    I may be wrong, but i think it was the proactive module that caused many systems to crash about 1 year ago...
     
  18. SnowFlakes

    SnowFlakes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    In the new 2013 version they will remove ads i think, or else people will not use Avira free, but another antivirus free, like Avast free or Avg Free or Panda Cloud Free.

    Ask Stefan about it, he is here in this forum and he works for Avira.
     
  19. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
    Avira never had a "proactive" module, only heuristics.
     
  20. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Check here Joxx: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=323682&page=2
    (the problem occurred less than one year ago, i was confusing with the addiction of some toolbar and a ad to a scareware program bundled with the free version)
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  21. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I was impressed with the protection Avira Premium had when I tested it a couple of years ago. It probably offers the best stand alone scanning protection on the market. I didn't stay with it because its web protection at the time was weak. Looks like they have beefed that up in it's later versions.
     
  22. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    imo the web protection was awesome when i was testing yesterday. stopped literally everything in its tracks most before it even hit the hard drive at all
     
  24. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Ok, now i understand what you're saying. I was talking about the module called "ProActiv".
     
  25. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    That is good to know zfactor. I have it running on a pc here at work and it has been running flawlessly.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.