Would this program replace RollBack Rx?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by bgoodman4, Jul 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Paragon Virtualization Manager 12 Professional

    http://www.paragon-software.com/home/vm-professional/scenarios.html#4

    I have used Paragon products before and have found them VERY easy to use so I am hopeful that this offering from them will simplify my desire/need for a virtualization program. One of the main things I want to do is virtualize my existing hard drive rather than have to install a new OS into a virtual one and then set it up (I also want to run an Apple OS as well since there are apps I would like to use only built for Mac - I know I will need to buy a copy of the OS to do this). From reading the features of the program it sounds like this one may also be a replacement/substitute for Rx. Could it be?

    Does anyone have experience with this program?

    Any short comings with this program or type of program I should know about?

    I Have long intended to get into virtualization and had thought that VMware would be the way to go but I am a bit put off by the complexity (possibly imagined) of getting into VMware. This one sounds easy and my be a good introduction to VMs.

    OH yes, my MAIN objective is to get into VMs because I run lotus 123 and I absolutely will need to be able to run it as far into the future as I can see.

    Lastly the program will be on Bits DeJour in the near future for 50% off and if the program is a reliable as I hope it is, and will do what I hope it will, I would like to be able to take advantage of the sale. AND if it will function as a replacement for Rx that will avoid some of the issues Rx has that would be a nice bonus (but I would possibly run Rx inside one of these as well - any issues with doing this - would it even be possible or advisable to try?).

    Thanks in advance for any info or guidance you can provide.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  3. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear Barry,

    I have found Paragon products confusing for me to understand them and they seems to overlap each other. I am not sure if one needs virtualizaton software with this or not. Screenshot (#5) shows one either needs VMware, Virtualbox or Microsoft Virtual PC to migrate the OS to them.

    However, having said the above, VMware is one of the easiest software to use. Why not try it for 30 day free.

    Best regards,
     
  4. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear Brian,

    Excellent find above. From the above link:

    "Microsoft Virtual PC is an application that permits the user to run multiple operating systems at the same time on the same physical computer. Virtual PC lets you create separate virtual machines on your Windows desktop, each of which virtualizes the hardware of a complete physical computer."

    Thus, a Window Desktop is a must!

    Best regards,
     
  5. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    I have used Paragon Backup for a number of years and versions and its the easiest backup program I have found. Thats why I thought this one might be as well.

    Two of the stated features are that you can virtualize your existing hard drive for backup up or migration purposes,

    I probably should test both and will try to do so in the next week or so. Thanks for the suggestion and info.
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear Barry,

    One of the imaging software I own is Paragon HardDisk Suite 11, and I simply love it.

    Yes, the two uses are:

    1. Virtualize for backup and not for current use.
    2. Migration to VMware/VitualBox/Microsoft Virtual PC.

    Basically, the above is an imaging program, and you can keep the image in a virtual state so that you can use it with VMware/VitualBox/Microsoft Virtual PC.

    Best regards,
     
  7. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Thanks Brian, I had actually downloaded some info on this offering from MS but never got around to reading it. I did read through the page you linked to and I see you need to set-up from scratch. I am hopeing to not HAVE to do this. I would of course have to for the Mac applications - and buy a Mac licence - but for my main usage I just want to replicate my current PC and A) run it when I am visiting suspect sites or opening suspect e-mails etc. B) test programs as if on my regular PC but in a virtual environment, C) have the ability to "add OSs if and when I want to D) run legacy programs.

    I know VMs can do these things but as noted above I would like to start real easy if I can and avoid having to install and set up an OS. Perhaps after getting comfortable with a simple VM system I would go to a more complex one like VMware (which from reading on its website at least appears quite complex with all the different components/modules available).

    I am also interested in finding out if there are any problems with VMs I would prefer not encountering surprises like the Rx MBR issue after I begin using a program or system. I would much rather know about any shortcomings beforehand if possible so I can protect against them.
     
  8. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Ah, I thought you could launch it with the Paragon product as well. Still, it sounds as if I could avoid having to install a new Windows OS and set it up with all of my software since it would appear I could boot the (so called) backup image using one of the other V programs. I expect I would need to buy an MS licence if I were doing this but have no idea how I could apply the licence to a VM created from my existing real PC.

    I also recall that this same thing could (I think) be done using one of the VMware modules but I do not recall which one (if any). I had started to explore this area a year or so ago because I thought I was going to upgrade my PC last Jan. I let things slide because I decided to wait for Win 8 before upgrading. I now hear that 8 will be launched in the next few months so I would probably be looking to upgrade in about 12 months (I like to wait until at least some of the bugs are worked out of a new release before jumping in).

    Also, Mohamed (or anyone else) do you think this could/would be a reasonable replacement for RX. The only thing I see as a shortcoming would be the lack of automatic snaps (hourly) and as indicated in the article on MS VM a slow down of the real and virtual machines if and when both were being run at the same time. ----- how much space would a virtual backup take? I expect it would take a lot more space than an Rx snap but it could be stored on an external drive so thats not a big isue. Would it be as large as a normal image created with, say, Paragon backup? How long would it take to create the virtual backup? Same time as a regular backup, same as an Rx snap, something in between? ---- this thread really should be on the virtualisation forum,,,not here.

    EDIT: I just noticed the following from my quote above

    This sounds like you do not need a 3rd party VM program to launch the backup image.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  9. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Could a mod move this thread to the correct forum please? I expect I will get more input there.

    Thanks.
     
  10. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear Barry,

    Basically the two best virtualization software are:

    1. VMware, expensive but very powerful and easy to use. You can do a free trial for 30 days.
    2. VirtualBox, freeware and worth it price.

    Both of them, have to be installed on Windows Desktop, in your case you have to install them on your Windows XP.

    Once you do the above, you can create as many OS in them as your heart desire, provided you have enough hard disk space.

    Where does the Paragon Virtualization Manager 12 Professional fits in all this?

    You can virtualize your existing Windows XP, with all your software and settings, and then you can install it in either VMware, VirtualBox or both of them.

    Best regards,
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Barry, you don't have to install the OS from scratch. You can create Virtual Machines from your installed Windows OS and use the Virtual Machine in VirtualPC.
     
  12. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Very true!

    It is good that you didn't upgrade to Windows 7 yet, as Windows 7 is very expensive with all the different types of Windows 7.

    I understand within 2 months the Windows 8 is launched, one can upgrade from any Windows to Windows 8 for $40.

    Best regards,
     
  13. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Excellent, thanks.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    aladdin,

    Sound too good to be true. Do you have a Microsoft reference?
     
  15. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    I would be upgrading everything,,,its time for a new PC with multi-core processing etc. My CAD programs are already beginning to strain the capacity of my current system and to upgrade any of them I will need a new PC not just a new OS. In fact, I have put off upgrading to the latest version of my principle CAD program because of this. It would choke the H out of my current PC I am told.
     
  16. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear Brian,

    Basically, people a trying to get this $40 deal for a family pack (3 licenses) rather than a single license.

    Here is some information on this:

    http://betanews.com/2012/07/02/all-windows-versions-from-xp-to-7-eligible-for-40-win-8-pro-upgrade/

    And, here:

    http://betanews.com/2012/07/09/will-you-buy-windows-8/

    Best regards,
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Wow, great.
     
  18. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Would the Paragon product make things easier or add an extra layer of complexity? If it would simplify things would I be best off using it with VMware and if so which modules would I need to do what I want to do or would one VM program be as good as another (should I start with a free one or just jump to VMware)?

    If it would add a layer of complexity which would be the simplest way to get into this stuff? I am a total newbie here and have limited technical expertise in general. I looked through the Paragon manual and its fairly straight forward but I would just be following directions,,,I would have no idea what I was doing.

    I do tend to dislike learning new programs (its probably a function of age) so the simplest to use program would (probably) be best for me, but if one of the more complex programs was markedly better than the others I would go for that ----just be warned in advance----I expect I will make you folks crazy by asking for help. I know VMware is the most powerful/best but is it that much better given my stated utilization of a VM than any of the others?
     
  19. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    I am heading for bed now as its 3:37 am local time and I have to be up in 4.5 hours. I will check back here as soon as I can.

    Thanks to you both for your input.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.