Would this be a good setup?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by php111, Jun 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Hey, would this be a good setup? Or would this kind of setup be known to cause BSODs and other problems or is it safe?

    It would be PrivateFirewall+NOD32 AntiVirus 6+MalwareBytes (paid)+SUPERAntiSpyware (free)
     
  2. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Drop SAS and put Hitman Pro. ;)
     
  3. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.

    :thumb:
     
  4. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124

    Thank you!
     
  5. STONEMAN

    STONEMAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    98
    Location:
    London,South Of The River
    This might be better:-

    PrivateFirewall ---- real time
    NOD32 AntiVirus 6 ----real time
    sandboxie free version for browser protection http://www.sandboxie.com/
    (worth getting the paid version though)

    MalwareBytes---- on demand scanning only
    Hitman pro---- on demand scanning only

    Just my thoughts ;)
     
  6. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Yes, that is even better.
     
  7. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    116
    Stoneman,

    Just curious, but why demand only on MalwareBytes ( run pro version since I got a coupon some time ago now).

    Tks
     
  8. STONEMAN

    STONEMAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    98
    Location:
    London,South Of The River
    Nord1
    Well imo I think privatefirewall with nod32 together in realtime would probably cover what MalwareBytes would do,plus having sandboxie to stop most of the nasties getting through your browser.Then using MalwareBytes to just scan your downloads or maybe once a week system scans.MalwareBytes is a great program but I personally wouldnt run it realtime with this setup,some people would and theres nothing wrong with that,as I said just my opinion :)
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I agree with @STONEMAN. I would drop PrivateFirewall. Win FW is more than enough. Why make a setup heavy? Light but effective is the way to go. And suites like Webroot SecureAnywhere and Titanium products come with no separate FW but support the Win FW with effective settings and control.;)
     
  10. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    I also would drop SAS. And use only MBAM Free, not the pro version. 2 real-time anti-malware solutions is overkill and potential conflict waiting to happen, not to mention too much overhead. And some sandboxing and/or light virtualization, and an imaging regimen.
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Agree with you. SAS shouldn't be even considered let alone dropping. :thumbd:
     
  12. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    MBAM Pro is designed to run along with your existing AV.
    ;)
     
  13. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    When i used mbam pro it seemed to be just a malicious ip blocker and didnt seem to do much else.
    If running an av and a decent web blocker or dns then mbam pro is not needed.
     
  14. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    It has great detection of adware and rogues...
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    MBAM Pro protects against malicious executables. It'll sit quietly until so. It's perfect companion to a AV. Everybody knows about the strength of MBAM's database and detection. That said, MBAM PRO is not very strong in realtime protection.
     
  16. STONEMAN

    STONEMAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    98
    Location:
    London,South Of The River
    (That said, MBAM PRO is not very strong in realtime protection)
    Thats a bold statement, got any proof?
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Not bold at all. You can see it yourself. Is the realtime prevention as good as the stellar detection and removal of on-demand MBAM? I found myself. PCMag and others agree. Anyway I'm saying this relatively. Not that MBAM pro is not good.
     
  18. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Stating as such would certainly be a good marketing ploy. But I wouldn't personally do it in actuality. I've heard many accounts of conflicts from people doing it.
     
  19. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Did they make exclusions in each real-time product? ;)
     
  20. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I do it without conflict.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.